Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:48 - 15.03.08
Applications
When I had culled through that mess of email that had arrived once my internet was reconnected, I had made the choice to set aside all the job board postings. My rationale was that each application for a job usually required an average of half an hour in time spent preparing. In addition, if one is going to apply, then adequate thought and preparation should go into each and every response. I simply did not have the energy or concentration to be able to do that until today no matter how pressing my financial situation is. I didn't want to sabotage the chances that might be out there you see, by being careless or half-hearted in my attempts. The upshot was that I spent almost all of my waking time today working through each possible posting; sending out about 20 applications altogether. Doesn't sound like a lot, but I rejected at least triple that amount of listings once I had given them consideration by the end of the marathon. Sent a few on to my youngest, who is looking for something that doesn't require him to participate in something that is close to illegal and also set some postings aside for my oldest son in case he still is looking for a second job as well. At least by the end of today I felt better about having given it my best efforts. I also took the time to touch base with a couple of the agencies that have been holding my resume since last winter, as well as a couple of companies that I worked for long ago. No one can say I'm being a prima donna, other than insisting that the wage be enough to cover my monthly bills and expenses. That is not unreasonable, is it?

During breaks I helped my youngest with his new hobby. You know that part in the parenting books where they tell you to respect one's child's/young adult's privacy by allowing them to keep their bedroom as they see fit? You know the compromise suggested that one just make certain their door is closed if the room is a disaster zone? Yes well. My youngest's door is always closed for fear of what might be buried under the clutter. About a week ago he started doing something very odd and out of character. He was cleaning up bits and pieces of his room and they were staying that way - clean. I thought maybe I had been transported into that movie "The Impossible Years". I think David Niven played the part of the psychologist cum father who was totally foxed by his teenage daughter's lack of regard for cleanliness/order. One of the best movies on parenting teenagers even now, I think. Anyway I thought it was maybe a temporary bout of insanity or that maybe he was coming down with some rare disease, but he had sustained the work until today. I know part of the problem was that his room had become the storage area for all his brothers' left behind clothing and possessions and there simply wasn't any way to bring order out of chaos. However, my youngest seems to have worked out a solution that pleases him and me as well. The upshot was that I happily helped out whenever he asked for my involvement today. One can see almost all of the floor now just for starters.

I am tired though, and I think tomorrow will likely be a repeat of today, so good night for now dear diary. Stair climbing has taken the last bit of energy I have and I need some sleep.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats