Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:20 - 06.03.08
birth place
Well I thought it was settled, but there is another recount occurring with respect to my electoral district. I guess a difference of 98 votes is just too hard for some to deal with. There was one instance where the Returning Officer actually had to cast the tie-breaking vote some years ago in this province. It does happen. All the more reason to make certain one gets off one's fanny and does their civic duty. It can make all the difference in the world. "Light one candle".

After I posted to you last night, dear diary, I went on with my genealogy work. As I was working on my sons' father's family the message came up that there was someone maintaining that family register and I could contact them - for a sum. Not a great amount in the grand scheme of things, but when one is struggling to find enough change in the sofa to buy food and kibble for those cats.... Needs take priority over wants. Right. I have a fair amount of seed packets that have accumulated in the back of one cupboard over the years, so once the ground has thawed enough I can grow my own veggies. However, the growing season here doesn't start officially until after the May long weekend - the one where we celebrate Queen Victoria's birthday. It's the in between time that is an issue. Guess I could try a window garden as long as the felines don't decide it really looks like a litter box to them.

I did hear from one of my cousins today about their side of the family. If nothing else, the genealogy project has been a great way to get a healthy family discussion going even if it is mostly by e-mail. Family members in the military are another bit of a challenge because one needs to know where they were stationed when offspring were born. Are they considered Canadian, because they are born on the base or are they registered in the census for the country where they were actually born. Or both. I think it depends on the time - the year and action - and the place from what has been noted in some of the media. A big scandal broke out in the autumn when it was learned that children of some of the war brides from WW II were not deemed Canadians. If soldiers children can be denied citizenship because of place of birth or nationality of the mother then I suppose one has to be extra careful when recording that information. Also, it is my understanding that my Dad's brother had dual citizenship. When he joined the air force - RAF - he had to forswear his US affiliation in order to be allowed to serve; the oath of loyalty being at issue I think. Recording the details properly may make all the difference to a descendant not even conceived yet. Hmmmm.

Not much else to report tonight. Exercising tired me out, so I think I'll go let the body repair itself while I sleep. Good night dear diary. Sweet dreams.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats