Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:07 - 05.03.08
Fall out
My youngest had a job interview today. Well at least phase one. Two hours of testing. He was rather stressed. Meant just after I signed off with you last night, I spent another hour helping him get his paperwork up to date and properly presented. Normally things like that haven't bothered him. I'm not certain why the lack of self-confidence with respect to this interview. Could be because he hasn't had any experience with the testing that is sometimes done. Every agency I have worked with has required me to do some. I suggested that the one thing that might trip him up is if he cared too much about getting the "right" answers. Even in math and physics - the "hard" or "exact" sciences - it depends which system is being used what results will be deemed "right" or "wrong", even when the data are identical. My Dad used to assist to set exams for one of the electronics disciplines in one of our local colleges, so I know that from direct observation, you see. That is what makes things so difficult in interviews. Identical responses in different companies will have entirely different outcomes. Not even based on facts and figures - just "values" as defined by the company/interviewer in question. You've heard my stories about my experiences with that part of the process ad nauseum by now, haven't you?

I had made certain all his chosen clothing was clean, pressed and mended the day before, so there was no last minute panic where sartorial issues were concerned when he got up this morning. I helped him figure out exactly where the testing was being conducted, since it was off-site of the company offices. Made certain he took my map since it was an unfamiliar corner of an industrial area, then verified the timing for bus/train/bus connections. All things he normally does for himself with ease, but was too rattled to deal with today. Again, the reason for his jitters escapes me.

Spent the rest of the morning keying in the extra information I had gleaned from my Dad into the genealogy project I've been working on the past while. Couldn't resist reading about some of the election stories from the day before. There was an upset in our community, so our representative is now from a different political party. There were less than 100 votes separating the first and second place candidate, but with the voter turn out so low a recount was held last night. The results were released at 1 in the am. Uh huh. More of the story on voter mix-ups being brought to light today. Apparently there were supposed to be voter information cards delivered to every household, but I know we didn't receive any. In addition, apparently there were hacker attacks on the official Elections Alberta website, as well as some of the political parties'. That meant electors who had tried to access credible information about where to vote were out of luck, since most of the sites were down for the majority of voting hours. All that added into the problems I described yesterday. One of the organizers from one of the political parties and I were talking about entirely different issues today, but they did note that the voters' lists produced for the use of polling officials were in a dreadful state as well, which meant that likely a lot of voters were registered twice - not a good thing. It appears from what was witnessed that the list was based on the phone numbers provided by various carriers. Since phone numbers are portable in this city, that means there was no way to verify whether a person actually lived at the residence where they were listed. The average family in this city moves every 2.5 years, add that in to the phenomenal extra population growth coming from all across the rest of our country. Do that math if you will. Euclidean not Boolean, if you please. I don't think the entire story has come out yet, but whether the rest of it will be allowed to be told or not still remains to be seen. Because I've worked on elections for decades, there is a lot that I can read between the lines and in those itty bitty silences, but most people won't catch or question what is presented to them. Probably get angry if anyone else raises it either.

Anyway I'd better stop speculating before I get myself into trouble. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats