Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:29 - 26.02.08
Like Chocolates
The neighbour from across the back alley arrived at my door around supper time. He was carrying a clipboard and some flyers. Turns out the neighbour in the other half of my duplex has applied to run a trucking firm out of that half of the building. Apparently they have told the city there is sufficient parking avilable for their trucks. Uh huh. My neighbour was trying to let all of us know so that we could call the city to oppose the application. Two blocks away there is the border of a huge light industrial area that is there specifically for that type of business. Why would the city even consider imposing such an operation in a strictly residential area directly across the street from a toddler's park. The area is not zoned for such businesses. I am feeling so overwhelmed with all the challenges that are facing me now that I just don't know what to do. Of course I will write to the city fathers and mothers but .....

Just after that I received an email from one of my e-friends. Well actually I received several emails from several of my e-friends, but this particular one seemed almost to be sent to help me deal with the most recent shock to my system. It made me think of that phrase from the movie "Forrest Gump". In all honesty, I have never watched the entire show in one uninterrupted sitting but I have seen all the bits and pieces that make up the whole, while doing other things like housework as I was watching it. However, that one phrase "Life is like a box of chocolates..." came to mind as I was watching the video that seemed to be responding to my circumstances. "You never know what you're gonna get". Good thing since I had thought I was going to crawl out of my skin for a bit - anything to try and stay calm in circumstances where I feel as though I have absolutely no control, but over which I also wil be the one who will have to deal with the most serious part of the fallout. It is intersting how often someone will send something that fits the circumstances perfectly at the time. This one really helped, although if I had my choice of a filling for that metaphorical chocolate it would be a good job - or a winning lottery ticket, but I guess you have to buy one to win,eh?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats