Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:47 - 17.02.08
Tradition
My treat for today was to look after my youngest grandson. Number four son and his wife decided that they would enjoy a Valentine's dinner on their own. Their baby - a girl according to the ultrasound - is due in early June, so they want to pack in as much couple time as they can now. They headed off to the same restaurant that my sister and her hubby took me to last December. Their server told them the evening before had been packed until very late at night, so they were glad that they had waited the extra day to celebrate their Valentines Day. They hadn't given me any notice about their plans, but I don't mind last minute requests when it comes to looking after my grandbabies.

Interestingly, there was an investigative report - W-Five - on our national channel about the value that grandparents provide to society, when they step into the role of caring for their grandbabies. Saves the tax payers multimillions of dollars in both direct and indirect costs. The reason more grandparents - like me - can't do it is simple. We need to earn enough to pay our bills too. The program focussed on those who are completely taking over the parenting role, but given the childcare crisis in this country, a very simple solution is staring our governments right in the face. Make it possible for family members to stay home with their children, whether that be stay-at-home moms or extended family like grandparents. That is not anti-feminist either, since the reality is that someone has to raise the country's children. Having only one solution available to parents is the true face of anti-feminism. Some people have even called it communism. I think that's going a bit too far. There is no reason why it shouldn't be possible. My guess is that the level of youth violence and crime would drop dramatically if there was actually someone from the family at home with children during the day. When I had the luxury of staying at home with my sons, our house was always filled with their friends whose parents couldn't stay at home with them. They wanted to talk and ask questions about values and morals you see. Children crave meaningful contact with significant adults in their lives, no matter what they say otherwise. Warehousing them from infancy in daycares is not in their or society's best interest and it is time that society was willing to put it's money where it's mouth is in terms of truly showing we value our childrens' welfare. Ooops. End of rant. I would happily stay home and look after my grandchildren, which would provide for childcare for six families - when my other sons start their families that is.

When my daughter-in-law and I arrived at their home - she swung by to pick me up - my son had just popped the Disney version of the Three Musketeers in their DVD player. My grandson made a fuss until just after the door closed on his parents, then he was totally rapt with the story. He sat on my knee singing along and commenting on what was happening to Mickey, Daffy, Goofy and the gang. It was one animated Disney feature that I hadn't seen and it was really well done. Not as good as the version with Michael York/Richard Chamberlain/Oliver Reed in it, but I digress. His Dad had said my grandson would likely fall asleep quickly, but even a diaper change didn't slow him down. We were half way through the Disney version of Robin Hood when his parents walked back in. Bummer. I had slipped one of the Harry Potter books in my purse so I could have the pleasure of reading him to sleep, but it just didn't work out that way.

The rest of the day was mostly housework, with a side of helping my youngest out of a crisis and a short visit with number two son. I did get positive responses from two of the family members who I had asked to help me with the family tree project. One is off on holidays for a week and will get back to me after that. It will probably take that long for me to get all the other data entry and research done anyway. On the drive to and from my home and number four son's home, I was able to regale my daughter-in-law with some stories of our family's past adventures, so the trips went by quite quickly. Always helps to build bridges of understanding so that family quirks - and all families have them - can be understood in the context in which they developed. Survival instincts, and the coping behaviours they cause to develop, linger long after the cause has been forgotten. Some people and cultures call them "traditions". Uh huh. Any way it's time for my bed time. Good night dear diary. Remind me to explain about the book covers tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats