Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:12 - 15.02.08
Relief
It's the yo-yo time of year. Temperatures can change by 30 or 40 degrees within a few hours, then back again to the previous values. Tends to bring in a lot of pollution with those high/low pressure troughs - or whatever - duking it out over our city. Today we had the warm side of the equation. Meant I was outside trying to catch up some errands and chores. The black car coat with the hood is what I chose to wear but it was way too warm for that. If I had worn it yesterday I likely would have felt as though I would freeze. The cats' bag of kibble was completely empty, so the general store a couple of blocks away was one destination. I got a hero's welcome when I returned. You would have thought those poor babies hadn't eaten for days, instead of a few hours. The store is of the 24 hour variety but going out walking in the dark in the middle of the night in the cold wasn't my idea of a wise choice. Especially not when I knew that in a few hours weather conditions would be much improved and the sun would be shining.

I should have taken my inhaler with me, but forgot, so I needed to spend time getting my breathing back on track when I returned home. Fed the cats first though so they would give me the time I needed to recuperate. There had been quite a dump of snow with that blizzard yesterday - soaked my pants up to the top of the calf - so after I was comfortable again I went out and shoveled the walk. Took my time since it was the heavy wet variety of snow - heart attack quality. Didn't want to much melting to occur though or I would have needed a pick axe to chip the accumulation away. By the time I returned inside the cats had eaten their fill, leaving their bowls still half full, and had all retreated to my bed for a nap in the sunshine. Uh huh. Opened all the windows so that the house could air out some more.

Checked my email and found a few that needed responses in addition to circulating all the great jokes that had been forwarded to me to my joke list friends. Laughter is the best medicine after all - especially for those of us suffering from cabin fever. Called my Dad because one of the emails was from my cousin who had been asking about the family trucking business. More questions to be asked before I could search online. Nice chat with my Dad as well. He tells great stories about our family history. Spent most of the rest of the day and evening researching those two or three email queries then cobbling together a coherent report back. Took breaks to chat with my oldest and youngest sons as well as exercise. By the time I got to the stair climbing the cats felt frisky so they chased me and each other up and down the risers. Glad they find my efforts so entertaining. Time for a nap now. Good night, dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats