Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:48 - 13.02.08
Station
I want to watch "What's Love Got to do With It?" again. Tina Turner was one of the people I took as a role model when my marriage was breaking down. I admired her talent and identified strongly with what she had to deal with in her own marriage/career. A lot of the same issues. Over the years, when things were really tough, I would recall scenes from that movie that echoed my own experiences as they unfolded. I didn't have her talent to draw on but I tried hard to use my own gifts to cope with a work and social environment that I found very harsh and hostile. One of the coping techniques I took away from her biography was the chanting she used. Found myself using it last night as I climbed the stairs. It helped enormously.

I was up early this morning airing out the house. The temperature was warm enough that I could lock the cats out of my bedroom and leave the balcony doors wide open as well as opening all the windows as well. They aren't frozen shut any more, you see. After several weeks of being shut in tight, with stinky litter boxes to boot, it was a great relief for all residents of this domicile. The cats were all clustered at my bedroom door just inhaling all those lovely outside scents. Hauled the garbage bags down to the back gate and was still able to turn off about half the heaters as well. I'm certain we'll get at least one more wintery blast before spring sets in but at least there is light - nearly 10 hours of it now - at the end of the tunnel.

Played telephone tag with the one agent who had called me yesterday about the temp to perm assignment. I didn't feel as bad about missing connecting with her when I learned that she works just four hours per day. She had called very close to her quitting time the day before. I had to be quite persistent today to get through, with the receptionist going the extra mile to help me track her down between her other calls. We finally hooked up ten minutes before her quitting time today. Gave me just enough time to send her the most recent version of my resume for her to forward to the employer before she went home. Maybe tomorrow ..... Also called the one interviewer I had met the day when it was -45 C with the windchill and the trains were stuck to the tracks. She had just returned from her vacation in Cuba. She obviously had had a wonderful time - the beaches being all that she had hoped they would be I guess. She's a very pretty woman, so I'm certain she didn't lack for companionship either. I let her know about a position I wanted to apply for in the industry she specializes in - one of the agreements we made being that I wouldn't sned a resume in on my own if their agency already had the employer as a client. They don't so I will. She said that the one assignment that she had called me in for was being delayed because of a crisis in the workplace for the person that I would be reporting to. Apparently I'm the only candidate being considered from the agency but it is the problems of the employer that are the barrier. Oi.

Spent some time contemplating things astrological, trying to see some light at the end of the financial tunnel. Mr retrograde Mercury returns to apparent direct motion on the 18th. Then there is a full moon lunar eclipse at 2 degrees of Virgo the night of February 20th, or the early am of the 21st if one is of a European persuasion. The Sabian symbol for 2 degrees of Virgo is "a large white cross located high on a hill, dominating the landscape". There is no mention of an active crucifixion occurring. Since Easter Sunday is almost exactly one month later, after that Ides of March drama at the next new moon, I think it points more to a resurrection of hope and life. At least that's my story and I'm sticking with it. Could be because the cats and I are crossing the Red Sea with Moses right now that I'm seeing things that way. I was always fascinated by by the very precise directions given for the pattern of the ephod, as well as the stories about Caleb. Something to look forward to I guess. Reading to the cats is a slow business these days since their attention spans are about the same as a toddler's right now - spring fever, and all. Anyway time for some sleep. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats