Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:19 - 08.02.08
Re Searching
Two contacts about possible job opportunities today, dear diary. The first came as an e-mail. I recognized the company name. I had applied on-line with them last August. One of the on-going problems with job searches is the length of time it takes for some of the employers to finally get back to you. The position - not the one I originally applied for - is one I would love to have. I know I don't have the qualifications for it, despite the statement that I was deemed a perfect match. I use an extensive array of software, but I don't have the expertise to program it, unfortunately. When I checked back to that application I noticed that I had spelled the name of the company incorrectly. That was while I was still being loaded up with massive amounts of antibiotics to fight that superbug I had picked up in the hospital. One of the reasons I stopped applying for jobs and opted to look after my grand-daughter instead was that I was making too many errors like that. I suspect that the recruiter that sent me that missive probably had something like that distracting them when they reviewed my resume. I will call them tomorrow though, to let them know I'm not ignoring their company - at this point in time I'm still available to fill any position they are willing to give me. If this one was offered as a training exercise I'd take it in a heartbeat.

The second contact was by telephone from one of the agencies that sent me out to an interview earlier on. Another position for six months has come open. Would I be interested and could I start immediately. At this point, yes and yes. Would I guarantee that I would stop looking for full time work. Well no, I can't afford another round of unemployment in the autumn. I'm tired of being broke around Christmas/my birthday every year. Notice that pattern? That doesn't mean that I would abandon the temporary assignment - it would just mean that when asked for my date of availability for employment it would be given as the end of the current contract. Did that with that last downtown assignment, remember? The agent said she would run my comments by the employer to see if they were comfortable with that. She'll call me in the morning to let me know if I need to go for an interview tomorrow. My clothes and outer gear are ready. Researched the software that they are using for the project as well. The forecast is for a storm to blow in around the morning rush hour. Oh well.

Not much else to say though, as the balance of the day was spent researching some information my Dad had asked me to find about his Dad's trucking company. His Dad had owned it from approximately 1932 until my Dad left high school - or thereabouts. My Dad said that he wasn't paying much attention at the time when the company changed hands, because he was more focussed on being a young adult and all that entailed. One of my cousins has been asking for some specific details which is what generated the current interest, you see. Corporate registry is probably the best place to start, but there are fees attached to that. If I can narrow down some of the details maybe I can reduce the costs somewhat. We'll see. Called my Dad in the afternoon to ask more questions based on what I had found after a few hours of searching. According to the search engines there are a lot of newspaper stories that mention the company. The problem is that likely a lot have to do with the company of the same name registered in the US. At one time both head offices were under my grandfather's company - my Dad said they were located in Kansas and Nebraska as far as he could recall, but a guess would be that the person who bought out my grandfather didn't maintain those. A lot of time has lapsed since then so I'm guessing that the trail might have a lot of twists and turns in it.

Anyway time for bed just in case I get that magic phone call with an interview time for tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats