Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:52 - 07.02.08
Pain
Happy Chinese New Year everyone. Year of the Yellow Earth Rat/Mouse/Cat. first of a new twelve year cycle as well. The last year of identical nature was 1948. I wasn't around at that point, but I understand that Dewey beat Truman in the presidential election that year - so said the headlines anyway.

When I looked at the weather map early Tuesday morning I realized that my end of the city was 10 C (18 F) degrees warmer than the south side. Hard not to feel some smugness at that, but because of our weather systems I knew that we could just as easily see the reverse in a very short time. Sure enough, by the supper hour it was 5 degrees warmer in the south part of the city than it was in my end. Still all above zero degrees though. For me the result was that I spent most of the day vomiting because of the weather migraine that threatened to cause my head to explode. One minute I was freezing, the next fevered. No writing was possible because of the pain. So sorry dear diary. Exercise consisted of a shortened round of stair climbing - Mr Pavarotti's voice soothing me a bit as I hung on to the bannisters for support. I did manage to take out the trash. That balcony door sliding smoothly along it's track. That extra warmth weather-wise helped too, of course. Quickly shovelled off the deck - bare foot - since I try to get out and touch the "ground" directly at least once a monthy regardless of the season. Just one of those days I guess.

I did start reading John Grisham's book "The Broker" - partly because laying down yesterday made the headache worse - if that could be possible. He is such a good writer that I was absorbed and thoroughly distracted by the story. Finished it today. Have a happy birthday tomorrow, sir. My Dad's neighbour had sent that book along for me last week, so I can return it before the week is out I guess. I also tried researching a company that sent me what appeared to be a very interesting job offer. A European auction site similar to Ebay is how it was described. Problem was that I couldn't find it no matter how I tried searching. Seems odd that one wouldn't find it quickly, since auctions rely on ready and easy access. The email had an attached agreement that I was supposed to sign and send back. The part that concerned me was that part of my job was to process payments for those goods that were purchased by North Americans. Why wouldn't they just wire the money to the seller through a secure service like Paypal? It didn't pass the smell test, so I decided to ignore it, although working from home via the internet would certainly make me happy. Sigh. I just can't seem to win no matter how hard I try.

Finally the pain moderated enough so that I could go to bed and sleep; waking this morning about the time that solar eclipse was at it's peak this morning. Felt much better. Managed to exercise and clean house anyway. My oldest son arrived around the noon hour to work on his search for a second job as well as download some tax forms. That time of year. He took the three Mehta movies with him, so I didn't get to watch "Earth" the second time after all. Probably just as well.

Anyway I think I'll try sleeping a bit more now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats