Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:52 - 01.02.08
Mariah
The weather has moderated somewhat, but it is still windy. That makes it still feel very cold when outside walking for any length of time. This morning I was scheduled in to interview for the one job where I had to answer the essay questions. Dressed appropriately but tried using one of the new-to-me outfits that had been buried in the back of my bedroom closet. Navy blue two-piece with tiny white polka dots. The skirt is ankle length the better to keep one's legs out of the wind, you see. Good thing.

First up walked about half a block from my home then realized that there were two pressing reasons to return there. Firstly, the icy wind plus air pollution thick enough almost to chew, meant I was fighting to breathe. Much as I hated the thought - my vocal chords won't co-operate when I try to sing along with youtube since I started taking them - I had to use the steroids inhaler or I wasn't going to make it to the bus stop, let alone the interview. Next, I had forgotten the paperwork that had been requested by the liaison. Bleagh. Good thing I had given myself a lot of extra time. The bus I wanted to take is not a familiar route. Trusting the schedules is not sensible when that bus only rarely visits the community. Miss it and an hour is lost in transit.

That bus arrived about ten minutes after I arrived at the stop. There were several other people waiting with me and we all had that chapped red skin typical in this type of weather by the time it pulled up. That bus took me directly to the south end of the main shopping artery in this part of the city. The building I had to visit is seven blocks deeper in, in the light industrial area. No regular bus that came close to the scheduled time for the meeting travelling that route so walking the balance of the distance was my only option. No sidewalks on the steeply inclined road that led up to the building. Despite my winterized, solidly-treaded, rubber-soled boots it was all I could do to keep from slipping and falling in a few places. Walking upwards on a very steep graded ice covered road into on-coming traffic was rather unnerving. Had to cross a set of railroad tracks as well. Bleagh. Meant I wasn't worrying about the interview though. That zen one-pointed, in-the-now concentration coming very easily, for certain. Had I needed to jump out of the way from an out of control vehicle the snow drifts on the side of the road were high and deep enough that I would have drowned in them. Bleagh too. I arrived about 20 minutes early, so I did have time to warm up and calm down too.

The interview was very comfortable with two women joining me for the session. The first woman arrived on her own and gave me a tour of the facilities. That helped me a lot, since I could see the flow of work and staff simply by observing how the space was utilized. When the second interviewer joined us the interview became very interactive. The work fascinated me and it was something that I could commit to with a great deal of passion. Something only a couple of other interviews had piqued for me. This position would utilize both my volunteer experience and my paid experience in equal measure but in some very unique combinations. No mention of wages was made but if it paid enough to cover my bills and maybe a bit beside so I could play with my grand-babies I think I would do just about anything to be hired. Reason being that it is a small office where everyone seems very compatible and equally as passionate about the work they do. Reza por me, por favor.

Returned home about three hours after I left thoroughly frozen to the bone. Sent off an email with additional requested information to the liaison, changed into comfort clothes then started with paperwork/bills as well as housework. My oldest son arrived about 90 minutes later wanting to use the computer for some work he needed doing. Job applications but also checking on some post secondary schooling options too.Phone calls back and forth between him and his boss as they tried to work out a schedule for the next few nights. He had had one job offer out of the resumes I had sent out for him but the shifts available didn't allow for him to be able to care for his children. His wages for the second - in the middle of the day - job would be eaten up completely if he hired a babysitter, so he is trying to find an employer that is flexible enough to take that into account. He has one interview tomorrow morning. He had brought a gift in the form of some rented movies - three directed by Deepa Mehta. He said he was going to be back to visit within the next few days so would collect them to return to the rental store then. Very thoughtful. My spine and hip had seized up from the extreme cold of the past few days, so he did a quick adjustment for me as well. He commented that the muscles of my upper back were very well sculpted, so I guess all those asanas are worth the effort. Hard to know when one can't see the results after all. Fed him lunch then I went and napped a bit while he worked on the computer. I hadn't slept much the night before just due to worrying about the interview. In addition all my muscles aching from the cold and the spinal adjustment. Meant my body needed some time to realign itself, physically and psychologically. Slept until my son was ready to leave.

Number three son arrived about two hours later and stayed to visit for about an hour. He had had to leave work early because he felt really nauseous. Said most of his co-workers had had similar bouts of flu all finding they were out of commission for at least 48 hours - most needing 72 hours to completely recuperate. My son is supposed to travel back to the one province for training on the weekend so he wanted to know if I had any herbal remedies that might lessen the symptoms or speed the healing. Since it was a stomach related flu I gave him peppermint tea, candied ginger, zinc tablets with vitamin C and some stress (B) vitamins to help his body's immune system cope better. Low tech but why not if it works. Told him to take in as much fluids as possible. He asked for some reading material on specific subjects to take home so I dug through the half dozen book cases located in various parts of the house trying to come up with a good collection for him to take away. He left seeming a little more content. The reading material realtes to subjects that interest his girlfriend you see. We did chat briefly about some things that were causing her stress too, since it is affecting their ability to relate. Nice that my opinion is valued.

Bed time now though since I have a fairly busy schedule again tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats