Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:18 - 28.01.08
Chillin'
"And with the windchill factor it is currently -44" said the weather reporter as my youngest was walking in the door at dinner time tonight. At that temperature it doesn't matter whether one is speaking in Fahrenheit or Celsius. Comes out to exposed skin being flash frozen in under a minute. Blizzard warnings for outlying areas as well. When he had left for work this morning, it was a balmy -8 C or about 20 F.

When he arrived I had soup and grilled cheese sandwiches ready for him. Comfort food in cold climates, as well as the amount of calories one needs just to begin to deal with the shock factor the body often experiences. In this type of weather one won't even realize how much damage has been done to their system until much later. My son seemed fine but I found him in a very deep sleep shortly after when I went to his room to check on him. Since he had managed to eat first the best thing for him was that response. Left him alone and closed the door so the cats would leave him be.

In the early afternoon number five son and his girlfriend had arrived to take me out for my birthday lunch. Cheesecake restaurant. Last time I had been to one of their sites all they had offered was desserts - the was a long time ago. Now their menu is filled with a wide variety of great choices. I had the classic omelette, while my son ordered fajitas and his partner had a quiche. The portions were reminiscent of farm breakfasts. All of our orders were delicious and the prices were very reasonable too. Mmmmmm good. Even better was the conversation though. Just catching up on each others' recent news. I had posted a birthday greeting on my son's Facebook webpage a week ago and was expanding on the astrological aspects in his progressed chart. One thing I mentioned was the positive influence of Jupiter on his finances. He interjected that that had already begun. He has won two office based lotteries within a couple of weeks - stating that that has never happened before in their recollection. He also said his boss has mentioned moving him up the ladder within a very short period of time based on his performance. He is meeting all his targets even though he is one of the new kids on the block. I'm really proud to hear that. He also talked about how the office politics were affecting his work situation. He still is just keeping to himself and not reacting to some of the stupidity but he said it is wearing on a person after a while. He obviously understands much better why I was so stressed sometimes now that he's experienced it himself. His girlfriend talked about her troubles with the vet and her family too. I really like her a lot. One of the things that I try really hard not to do is get too attached to the boys' girlfriends because so many of their relationships, over time, have not worked out as permanent. I'm afraid I'm already really attached to her as a person, so I hope this is the "right one". Not my call but I think she would really be a wonderful daughter-in-law.

It is supposed to be colder tomorrow. My son doesn't have to go out then but I do - if I want to make the interview set for me, that is. Maybe I'll get hired on just for showing up, dedication to the job already being clearly demonstrated. As we were walking from home to vehicle and vehicle to restaurant - both very short distances - I realized that the clothes I usually wear for interviews won't be safe enough to wear tomorrow, given the extremes windchills. Once I returned home from lunch and had covered all the windows with extra layers of fabric to block the drafts and to hold the heat in, I started digging through my closets looking for anything that would look presentable for an interview, but still not leave me freezing at the bus stop. The trains are notorious for freezing on the tracks when it is this cold too, so one can't take the risk of dressing too lightly. Found my -30, full length winter coat and I do have warm wooly dance leggings to wear over my stockings. Just need to find a sweater that isn't too tight or too casual to wear underneath. Don't think I'll be allowed to just keep my coat on you see.

Time to crawl into bed now though so that the body's core is as warm as possible for tomorrow's junket. Wish me luck. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats