Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:09 - 18.01.08
input
My youngest made his second dentist appointment for this morning. Walked in two hours later minus a molar, but with one other tooth filled and patched. The dentist told him that, if he was lucky, that wisdom tooth that had pushed out the molar to begin with would grow straight into the gaping hole now left in his jaw. This son has had very little contact with medical procedures over his life, so he wasn't really aware what to expect. He said he didn't even feel the needle for the freezing - lucky guy. He did however feel the effect of the operation when that freezing started to come out several hours later. His comment "but I expected it to have healed by the end of the day". Some bodies do have miraculous healing abilities - in fact any healing is a series of small miracles - but a little patience is in order. I didn't need to put on my Pavarotti tape because I was running up and downstairs all the rest of the day tending to the young master. Checking too to make certain he didn't have any negative drug reactions. There was an hour or so where that was a concern, when it seemed an allergic reaction might be erupting. An antihistamine took care of that, but mixed up with an antibiotic and pain killers it made him really out of the loop for a bit. His girlfriend called from Ohio to chat, but he couldn't really open his mouth enough to get out the words. Don't think he was all that coherent either. Good thing he took the day off work. His diet was liquid until just an hour ago when he managed a grilled cheese sandwich as well. Discussion of what to pack in his lunch for tomorrow that would sustain his energy levels but not cause harm to that open wound either.

Got an email from the one friend who works as an international election worker. She is overseas on a six week assignment. Same country but different working partner. Says he's a true gentleman. She sounded much happier as a result but asked me to keep a steady supply of jokes headed her way. I'll do the best I can - I have some really great e-friends who always seem to come up with fresh material that fits the bill. Sent her several after receiving her email. She asked about my job search since she has stood as a reference for me. Told her about my interviews to date.

Also puzzled over some of the comments made to me by one caller earlier in the week. One of the people who acted as a mole for the local Elections Canada rep last election. That person was asking if I ever wanted to do another election. I answered truthfully that I loved the work, but refused to accept the treatment from either that local rep or head office again. I suspect that will find it's way back to the rep within a day of the call, but it doesn't matter to me. Given the uproar over the firing of that one appointed chair of the nuclear safety board by said federal government I don't think me taking the position on again would be acceptable to them anyway. After all, all the posted districts of Returning Officers had been ones where the incumbents - like me - had refused to break the laws under which we were governed for our tasks. I think most of us had also questioned and refused to follow directions that put us in breach of those laws more than once. Both the safety commissions and elections officials are supposed to be protected from political interference for very sound reasons. It sounds as though this person is going to sue them for wrongful dismissal but she may also have grounds to sue for character assassination as well. Hmmmmm.

Got a call this afternoon from the agent who vetted my resume to the interviewer I will be meeting with tomorrow. Instead of calling him after I've done the interview to report the results, would I be willing to stop by his office for a debrief instead. Sure enough. Just asked him if anything was bothering him or owas f concern but he said no, that his appointment for the afternoon had been cancelled so he was free to meet with me face to face instead. Face to face meetings are good. Guess I best get some sleep so that the face I present doesn't have big dark circles under the eyes. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats