Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:08 - 05.01.08
Intermission
My oldest son had asked if he and his children could come visit today. Fine with me. After I got my youngest off to work I putzed around preparing for them as well as catching up on neglected tasks from a while back. Small things such as stitching up my gloves and sorting small items like socks. I never thought I'd see the day sometimes in the past decade - just no time. All those self care things that are first to be let go by when one's life gets too busy. A couple more loads of wash to catch up for the down time when that washing machine wasn't working. The only odd thing there is that my bra turned from white to silver. Nothing else in that load changed colour - just the bra. Silver lace is pretty, though..... My one sister had called later in the afternoon yesterday wanting to get together, so I had to beg off that. As I noted before I've decided not to trouble my head with trying to figure out what is up with that part of the family, but maybe some sort of a break is useful so the mystery can untangle itself without involving me.

Around 2:30 in the pm my oldest called to say that they wouldn't be able to make. My granddaughter had been told she couldn't come if she didn't get her bedroom up to snuff - school starting for them again next week, you see. Need to be able to find things. Pointed out to my son that he had been the very same way when he was growing up. Only the threat of not being allowed to visit my parents would motivate him to clean his room to my satisfaction. I reminded him of the saying that one always gets one child just like one's self as punishment - or reward. He just laughed and noted "the parent's curse". Uh huh. I still don't feel very well anyway - tummy and lungs both not very happy at all so maybe just as well. Another night's sleep and maybe I won't pass it on to those grandbabies, eh?

Since I suddenly had some free time I decided that it was meant to be free time. Played some games and youtube music in between preparing dinner for my youngest and continuing on with small tasks. There should be an automatic timer that shuts computers down when one surfs to certain sites. There probably is some such feature somewhere, but I haven't located it yet. Haven't looked that hard either. I always think "oh, I'll only listen to one song"... then two hours later I'm happy but wondering where the time went. Hmmm. Found myself singing along to the Hindi version of Pretty Woman in that language. Mr Khan enunciates his words very clearly, so just picked up the syllables phonetically. Probably not nearly as good as Will Smith and Nelly Furtado in the youtube clips of them trying their voices out in that language but I didn't have an audience to worry about. Unless one counts five cats, but even they were busy playing with their favorite toys - stalk the octopus and the mouses. Really.

Noticed some of the neighbours attending to small tasks outside, such as taking down their outdoor Christmas lights. Too bad because the displays have been very pretty and unusually bigger and more frequent than is usual on our street. It's been very warm by our standards so it only makes sense after all. Different attitude though. When they were being put up, I actually saw a couple of neighbours wearing Santa hats and the neighbour across the back alley wore full Santa regalia. Even the bus and train drivers got in the "spirit". The one day I was doing a piecework assignment in the south of the city where the hockey arena is located, there was a hockey game and many of the fans were wearing those Santa hats emblazoned with the Flaming C that is their logo. Helps when the team colours are predominantly red and white with black and gold trim. One of my sons even wore one with Christmas tree lights attached - they actually worked too. He has really thick, curly dark, hair that has grown a bit long - yay - and said he hadn't had time to make it behave befor eleaving to join the rest of the family that day. Whatever works. This is the son who would have died before putting any sort of hat on when he was a teenager. Not cool, he'd say. Even when it was - 30 C.

So not much to say today but sometimes that's a blessing too. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats