Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

20:48 - 26.11.07
Grounded
I switched on the evening news just after 6 in the pm in time to catch the meteorologist's report. His comment was "and with the wind chill right now it is -27 C." Hmmm. I was out travelling a good part of yesterday and it was quite balmy. Chinook arch to the west and all. But the young woman in the seat behind me was complaining bitterly to her friend that her weather migraine was bad and getting worse. Looking off to the northeast I could see major storm clouds of a snow producing persuasion and wondered which of the two battling fronts would win sway over the city. Guess I got my answer today.

I was beginning to feel like Bill Murray in "Groundhog Day" on Saturday. Spent it sending out resumes - again. At least in the movie his piano playing went from poor to exceptional. Mine is still the same - of course I guess one needs to practice even if they do live the same hours over and over again. Started reading out loud to the cats to lift my mood. Winter has always been a time when cozying up with my sons and telling stories before bedtime each night seemed to make the long dark nights magical. Mystery and that sense of expectation of a visit from the spirits of Christmas past, present and future, only with a positive outlook. Sometimes building memories like that in children are the only things that get the adult through tough times. Worked for me anyway. My youngest doesn't sit through the entire reading anymore - just comes up when his favorite parts of the story is being read. Saturday night three of the cats fought for the privilege of sitting on my lap while I dished up the beginning of "The Dark is Rising" by Susan Cooper. Last night things were a little more orderly as all five found a favorite perch nearby, half dozing as they listened. My youngest reminisced about all the other stray cats that used to join the circle in the summer to listen - before Ms Kitty became mistress of the house that is. Each summer we always had at least one feral cat that would make a habit of showing up at the boys' regular bedtime, slipping quietly inside the house to listen, then heading off for their nights hunt later. It was never the same cat as the summer before, but at least one of the wild ones all the same. Felines are very cultured beings, don't you know.

Yesterday I did a piecework assignment in the downtown. My youngest gave me a heads up just before I left. Another weekend of detours so that the new station can be brought on line - the one about half an hour away shank's mare or five minutes by bus. Got to keep thinking of the half hour of walking as an opportunity to get some extra exercise in - right? Arrived at the current end of the line station only to see the shuttle bus for the detour leaving as my fellow passengers and I stepped up to the curb. Frustration. Luckily one of the regular busses that travels the same route for that distance to the next station came by about five minutes later. Not too bad for a sunday service schedule. The signage wasn't that easy to spot unless one knew to look for it so was glad that I had been warned beforehand. A lot of people confused at the next station too. Just one of those things I guess. The mall was decorated in seasonal themes of course so that made it a more pleasant journey. Everyone seemed to be working hard to be extra polite to the other beings occupying the same space whether on the bus, train or in the stores. Bonus. The balance of the day was spent researching or monitoring various issues after filing my report.

I spent today just counting all the blessings in my life. Worrying about not having a job doesn't change the fact anyway. I did get one phone call from the resumes I sent out on Saturday. Just a matter of time before something works out - right? Keep the faith, y'all. I started preparing to decorate for Christmas. I am absolutely flat broke, but I still have all my decorations and even enough time to do a good job of it for a change. Started Christmas baking too - something I haven't had time to do for at least a decade and yet which I love with a passion. Cleared out the cupboards too, so that eventually one day they will be removed and the new pantries and flooring I bought two years ago can be installed instead. Might even look nice again. In the process I discovered I had all the ingredients for a Mexican rice dish I had wanted to try, so experimented with that too. Turned out quite well, if I do say so myself. Nesting mode - that's what has me in it's grip. I dimmed the lights to convey a cozy atmosphere for the evening meal, as well as to hide the disorder. As it is, neither the cats nor my youngest care, so I guess I should take my lesson from them. It's who you're with, not where you are that matters. Right? Time to go read some more to those felines now. Don't know if sugarplums dance in their heads, but maybe mice do. A bit of yoga and then to bed. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats