Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:29 - 21.11.07
Regroup
Saturday I felt like small children must when unthinking adults walk with them. Holding their hands so that little shoulders are just about dislocated as a result and little feet desperately try to both touch the ground and keep up with the adult's pace. First problem was a combination of my computer crashing and reporting technolgy not interfacing properly. Hurry up and wait and wait and wait... I had a shorter than usual deadline for filing the report for the piecework job the evening before. Even with the very late evening and transit adventures at that. I got up early with my youngest to get him off to work with a lunch packed then crawled back into bed, not aware of how frustrating the balance of the afternoon would be. Not only was my PC sputtering and misfiring, but the interface where I was to file that report hadn't been set up to receive certain of the datum. As it was, crunching the numbers to produce the statistics required in the report took over an hour on their own. The assignment instructions all state that failure to file reports on time can result in no payment for work and a black mark on one's record. On a Saturday neither any of the company reps nor any techs were available by phone or email. There was the internal email system that was working, so after several attempts to do the filing the "correct" way, I just put everything into several emails - the internal system only allows so many characters for each missive - and tried to send off everything that way. There again the internal email kept crashing, both because of the internal problems and the ones already existing where my PC was concerned.

As I was trying to get that report in under deadline number four son called. Was I going to be on my way over soon? Huh? His partner had emailed me mid-week to ask if I would babysit so they could go to her company Christmas party. I had arranged to go out with one of my sisters and her hubby for the afternoon so asked when I would be needed so I could work it out with my sister to get my visit in too. Before that happened my son's wife emailed back and said not to change my arrangements because one of her sister-in-laws was ready willing and able to fill in. Fine.

Also during my battle with errant technology my sister called obviously upset. Their truck had broken down the night before and was now in the shop. They had been told that it was a water pump and some other things that were incomprehensible to one like me who doesn't drive. The gist of the message was that it was dead, going to take a long time to fix as well as be very expensive - over $1000 - into the bargain. My sister said she didn't know where they were going to find the money, but her hubby can't get to work without it. They live in one of the bedroom communities while he commutes to the city every day, you see. Trying to bus it would likely cost him four hours each way minimum. Might as well camp out at his worksite than try to transfer back and forth each day. I stayed on the phone talking with her, while fighting with the techno beasts online, trying to help her calm down. One of those things one has no control over, so why stress. I would have done the same in her situation, mind you. Another reason I prefer transit; I couldn't afford to maintain the type of old beater I would likely have to drive. The upshot of the conversation was that our visit was a no go for the time being. Too bad, I was looking forward to it.

It turned out to be a good thing though when my son called, not long after, with his question about when I was going to be at his home. I asked what had changed, so that now his partner wanted me to babysit. He said she said she hadn't told me not to come. I read her email to me to him and he just said he didn't know what had transpired. I explained that I had to get that report filed and it would be too late for me to bus it to his house in time for them to leave on time - on a Saturday the best time I could make would likely be a minimum of two hours - and that I hadn't any other form of transportation available to me. He called his wife at work. It was finally decided that rather than her picking me up, they would pay for a cab to come by for me. I finally managed to get the last of the emails containing that report sent and confirmed less than half an hour before I had to leave. Still in my jammies, I was, so I had to do the quick rinse and dress routine in order to not be late for the cabbie. Of course, he arrived about 10 minutes earlier than the time call, which put all that much more pressure on. Don't want to be charged for the idling time, especially since it wasn't my fault he had to wait. Called my youngest to let him know of the change of plans and to be certain he had his keys. He sounded relieved that supper was all ready for him. I had made it while waiting for the computer to reboot, and reboot and reboot.... Gave me something to do with my hands that didn't involve throwing something out the window, if you know what I mean. Multi-tasking: that's what I meant to do really.

The ride to my son's new home - the one they moved into at the beginning of the month - was informative though. Started talking with the cabbie about the oil and gas royalty review - common topic these days among just about everyone it seems. He expressed his distress about how badly seniors were being treated even with a 4 billion dollar provincial government surplus sitting in the treasury and all this other cash owing from the oil companies. He said that he had several clients who he saw on a regular basis - taking them to and from doctor appointments - who were now being told by the government supplier that even the oxygen they need was going to be cut back and rationed. One couple even being refused a refill when they only had an hours' worth left in their canisters. Given that their seniors' pension fund just barely covers their costs - the cabbie said that food was often not enough to last the month - it isn't as though they could order an interim supply from somewhere else either. Refusing the necessities of life is pretty obscene given the amount of money the provincial/federal governments and the oil companies hold, ostensibly in trust and as stewards for the citizens of this province. The cabbie said he was so worried about some of his regular fares among the seniors that he had taken to checking on them even when they hadn't called him to drive them around. Really impressive man, but what about all the seniors who aren't lucky enough to know him and why is he filling in the gap when he doesn't make all that much to begin with. Out of pocket and not likely to ever be recognized for his compassion and community service, let alone compensated for it.

Arrived at my son's home a lot less frustrated with my own issues; being grateful for the lessons offered from the driver about what really matters. My son gave me a tour of his new home. It is perfect as far as I can see. Well maybe a fireplace and a little more lawn, but it was the home I dreamed of having for my guys when they were small. Guess I managed ok with what I had. I should be thankful they all liked living in such cozy/cramped quarters, eh. My grandson was quite happy to see me. He wanted to show me where all his special toys had been stored. He was also thrilled that he could now open the kitchen cupboards all by himself - at least the ones that held his favorite foods and the pots and pans he loved to bang away on. He came over and laid his head on my lap at one point as his mom swished by running to get ready to leave. Made me glad that I had been able to find a way to work it out with my son so I could spend the evening there.

My oldest son lives only a few blocks north and west of number four son's new home, so I had brought a bag full of materials I had been collecting and holding for him and his children. Number four son said it was ok with him if I invited number one son over for a visit while they were at the party. Fed and bathed my youngest grandson while waiting. He was running around nekkid, with me chasing after him trying to wrap his clean diaper on, when the doorbell rang. My oldest son had brought his two children to play so the atmosphere became quite festive. Traded parcels, as I received school photos in exchange. Bonus. My youngest grandson cried louder and longer when his cousins/playmates left with their Dad a couple of hours later, than when his Mom and Dad had left earlier in the night. Very social little guy, as well as loving being the center of so much attention. Cuddled him a bit, fed him, tucked him into bed. Cleaned up all those toys then did some work on their computer since it was not crashing. My son and his partner returned around 10:30 in the pm saying they had a good time and his wife drove me home. My youngest and I chatted for about another hour, then I crawled into bed. The day was very productive in the end, I guess, in retrospect.

Sunday was a repeat of Saturday in that I fought with my computer most of the day and tried again to file that report the "right" way. Still no luck. A couple of automated emails from the company saying it was overdue didn't help my morale either. My sister called to update me on the truck issue. We talked for a couple of hours about children and work issues. Both of us having the same complaint - we like what we are doing, but neither of us can really say we can make a living at what we do. Sigh. She runs a dayhome and said that a couple of her clients are looking for work, with the same results as me. There are jobs being offered, but at wage where every month one would go deeper into the hole financially. Single parents and married couples both, that she works for, all struggling to survive on what they make right now. Economic booms might be nice for the industries raking in the profits, but there are no "trickle down" benefits to most of us in the province who produce that wealth. One of the big stories in the news this weekend was the opening of a new homeless shelter that is already filled to capacity despite the other existing local shelters expanding and operating at the same time.

Number three son dropped by Sunday afternoon to pay back some money he has owed me for a while. Just tight times all over. Same thing for him; he is working 14 to 16 hour days six days a week, but the cost of living is draining all of us dry. There just isn't enough money to get to the end of the month, no matter how tight one is with their budgetting. My youngest, number three son and I spent about an hour chatting about the politics of the day, before he headed off to get some sleep before his next six day shift. One thing that my sons absorbed from me and my volunteer work when they were too young to realize it, was that I was teaching them to be politically aware. Not that we always agree on issues, since I also worked hard to teach them to think for themselves. The joke's on me now that they have become excellent debaters. Keeps me on my toes. Their perspective and analysis on the fine points of various issues can be quite astute.

I was able to get some bills paid and essentials bought Monday as a result of that Sunday visit. In the afternoon I carried out another piecework assignment, successfully filing that report with no problems. The agent looking after that company had expressed anxiety, in an email to me, because of the other overdue report. I had spoken with the agent who was responsible for that other company just an hour before and so could explain that the techs had just started work on fixing that problem not an hour before she contacted me. Sigh. The agent for the overdue report said she had had 80 emails arrive in her inbox from across the country Saturday morning, with all of us qc'ing on that company's behalf having the same problems. She said it was not the gift she had hoped for for her birthday. No doubt. She expressed some frustration with the delay too since she lives and works from Eastern Canada - three hours difference in the time zones. Meant she would likely have to work late into her evening to collate all the information once the techs did their thing. Management has a lot of benefits, but then again ...

Today was spent just trying to catch up on all the things that had to be set aside in order to deal with all the surprises and out of left field issues arising on the weekend. The cats were ecstatic to have their mom back being more attentive to their fine selves. They had alternated between sympathy - I found their favorite toy, Mr. Orange octopus, laid at my feet Sunday morning - and naughtiness, to redirect my attention to them all weekend. When I was working through my yoga tape all five were weaving in and around my hands and feet as I tried to keep my balance. Mr Mel actually tried to sit on my one stable leg as I was doing the crescent asana. Nearly sent both of us crashing down. Then he crawled under me when I was working in "downward facing dog" so he could do his version of that same pose. Darn cats do that posture with so much grace and ease that it's hard not to be jealous, but then again I have the opposable thumbs - right?...

I did take in a webcast from one of the big financial firms about the current trends in the use of consumer technologies assessed along generational lines. No I don't fit my generations' profile, but then again I don't fit that profile for much of anything else either. That Uranian influence you see.

I've had a bout of domestic diva take over my persona - all those Christmas catalogues filling up the table - so after I looked after all the mundane chores, like litter box duty, laundry and dishes I made some from scratch French onion soup and chocolate chip cookies. Yes I washed my hands first - in the shower. My youngest was most pleased with the baking efforts anyway. Grabbed a handful of cookies when he arrived home from work saying that he'd eat supper later. It was the snow you see - cookies relieved the trauma of actually dealing with it staying on the ground instead of melting as it has up until now. Poor dear. Some things never change, do they. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats