Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:54 - 12.10.07
Round-up
A dream a couple of nights ago featured a barn. At first it seemed to be run down with some of the boards missing but as I looked more closely it healed itslef in front of my eyes - if such a thing was possible. It was a dusty brown colour, with an odd roof structure. I knew I had seen that type before but not around where I live. More of the type one would see in an alpine setting. My mind said no - it was in Pennsylvania. Whatever. I have a specific vision of what Pennsylvanian barns look like from my elementary school classes and that definately wasn't it. However, not everything I was taught in school was accurate, so it may be that I am misinformed. Next up I seemed to be immersed in a warm ocean - even to my eyes and nose. There was no discomfort or panic. I was like a healing too, as well as a preparation to help with the future needs of people I cared for. The boys' Dad showed up in the dream and that really bothered me. He seemed to be in that oceanic place so maybe it is where everyone goes when healing is occurring. That isn't a bad thing I guess, as long as I don't have to deal with him in any foreseeable future.

The morning commute was uneventful although the first bus was packed again. New driver though who is a little less aggressive when it comes to those curves. When one is standing that makes a big difference - at least to me it does. When I arrived at my son's home it was obvious that the evening had not gone well at all. My granddaughter had slept through the night, I was told, but both she and my son looked as though they were in shock and both quite sad. Don't know what to make of it. Speculation was easy, but not a good idea to indulge in it. It appeared that my son had gone shopping late the evening before because the missing supplies had all been replenished. Laundry I had started from the day before was in the hamper, would I mind putting it away. My grand-daughter hadn't had anything to eat yet. Probably a precaution so that her parents wouldn't be wearing her breakfast to work. My son said she hadn't wanted to get up yet either. Fair enough - just played it by ear.

Once her parents had left for work "little miss" sipped on her cup of milk while I prepared oatmeal for her. She ate willingly but sparingly which was normal. Even so her energy levels were incredibly low. When I wasn't cuddling her - when I had to attend to tasks - she would lay where I left her not moving at all. That was a bit disturbing. She wasn't complaining of pain, but she wasn't responsive to things that usually excite her either. I kept her up until nearly her regular nap time trying to reset her biorhythms gently so that she would be ok to go back to daycare next week. Quite honestly if she is still not well I would rather spend another week looking after her but I don't know if that would cost her the space that opens up that day. Care of children shouldn't hinge on corporate goals but there isn't much I seem to be able to do about it.

She slept for four hours - double her usual time - and woke up because of a very messy diaper. Threw all her bedding in the laundry and drew a bath for her. She thought she had gotten a great deal and her energy levels were much better too. she didn't want to get out of the tub but finally conceded when the offer of yoghurt was made. Hunger is a good sign too. We watched her favorite Youtubes of the moment (proof I don't have Alzheimers yet, since I could get the lyrics right and on time)and a couple of tv shows while she ate. She found an old program from the July Stampede containing photos of her favorite cartoon characters. She thought the photos of the rodeo were pretty interesting to since she is into farm animals right now. Maybe that had something to do with the barn dream too. Anyway, by then she was ready to get down and play with her newly washed stuffed toys. Not quite up to speed but close enough to feel that she was on her way to full rcovery. She did start to gag, her tummy heaving a bit, when I tried to feed her her regular supper so we just went back to sipping water and cuddling until her Dad arrived home. There were several communications about work related issues for me both in voice and e-mail, but I didn't feel that I could direct adequate attention to them today. Maybe tomorrow. Sigh. Chatted about politics and music with my son on the way home. a profile of Gordon Lightfoot was playing on the radio. A lot I didn't know about him. When he was really popular it was during the time when celebrities private lives were generally respected so the material about that was a revelation.

Started supper for my youngest after cuddling and feeding the cats, feeling queasy myself. Bleagh. As it turned out I guess I didn't have to worry about a meal because my youngest arrived late and dived for his bed. Apparently his virused body isn't healing all that well or quickly. Not surprising when one works those many hours. The problem though is that if he doesn't take in something to eat then his body won't have the energy to fight off the germs. Guess I'll try to get something light into him now and hope that the body will do the rest on it's own. No oceans around here for at least a thousand miles. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats