Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:11 - 03.10.07
Scrambled
The "Sally Forth" cartoon in the weekend newspaper was about the father, "Ted", attending job interviews after losing his long term employment. Some of the real life comments that I have heard in interviews were featured. Really - all except the one about smelling badly but who knows what is said about one after one has left the building. I got a call from the placement agency - the agent who called me on Friday to set up the interview. She had had to ask for my resume and obviously hadn't read the part about me wanting something full time and challenging - or at least something where I was learning something new while doing very basic, boring tasks. She also stated in her call that she shouldn't have mentioned the second part of the assignment - the part that offered the training. The upshot was that the interview wasn't a match and I hadn't gotten the job. Something I had known before I even walked out of the interview. I asked for feedback so I could do better next time even though I couldn't have foreseen the communication mix up between her and the employer who had denied the existence of the second part of the assignment altogether with emphasis. No, no all we want is someone to work in this enclosed dark room for four months just filing filing filing. No interaction with any other staff please. Well that last part wouldn't have been an issue as you know most of my other assignments headphones with music have been an essential part of my work. The feedback that the agent had for me was that I didn't get the job because I coughed too much and wanted too much socialization from the work. Whatever too. I would have put off the intervie in other circumstances but this was the one where they had wanted me to attend immediately on the past Friday and to start right away. I can't win for losing. The consolation was that there was another request for an interview in my inbox before I received the call from the agent. I am still wondering why she hadn't had access to my resume or personal profile when she called on Friday though..... Doesn't matter.

More correspondence/calls from family and friends taking up a lot of time with more need for research before sending off the responses. My grand-daughter was really tired and teething today so it was low key types of interactions on board. She has started that biting phase - you when they are like a puppy trying out those new chompers. Have to discourage that before she goes back to daycare. Yesterday I had called the delivery service that left a package for a home at least 10 blocks away - the address didn't show up in Canada Post's database - last week at the back door of the neighbours that share a stoop with my son's home. Those neighbours are trying to sell their home and are rarely at the site. Nor is the realtor for that matter. Since no one else seemed to have noticed and it was almost a week later I thought maybe the delivery company might want to rectify their error. The call from them this morning was one of those surreal moments where one isn't certain if they are in a parallel reality or not. The woman at the other end of the line was huffy and wanted to know how I knew that "MY package" was at the address I had provided yesterday - that being my son's, of course. I explained that I hadn't called about "my package" being misdelivered, but that I was working in the neighbour's home to which the package - for someone else, whose name I had provided yesterday - had been left in error and had just wanted their service to retrieve it and send to the correct and rightful owner of the contents. It took several tries to get that person to understand the issue. Oh fine I'll send someone out to pick it up then. I suppose we could have tried to deliver it ourselves - me not having a vehicle and not willing to take little miss out for a walk in a wind that elicited a warning from the weather office, you see. There was also the issue of liability. What if there was something damaged or missing in that package and we were accused of the loss, being the last ones to handle it. Easier just to get the delivery service who had been entrusted and paid for the service to carry out their responsibilities. The tome of the woman's voice seemed to relay the opinion that this was all my fault - or maybe I was just cranky by the end of the conversation. Don't know, but I do know that there definitely wasn't a thank you for helping their service out of a mess. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

Anyway time for bed now. I'm tired. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats