Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:51 - 24.09.07
Marketing 101
It rained throughout the night and early morning clearing up around noon today. Nippy weather. I guess that's one way for Mother nature to confirm that summer is, indeed over. Gave me another excuse not to mow the lawn. The ground was puddled and muddy.

My youngest and I headed off about the same time for work purposes. He had a course to take and I had a piecework assignment to finish off. Today being the deadline. Quality assurance in a retail setting - during an end of season sale no less. Oi. The number of shoppers didn't bother me nor the number of staff, but the music being pumped in? Re-activated yesterday's headache. It made my job more difficult as concentration became an issue. Oh well what is life without challenges, eh? Dropped in to the doctor's office on the way home to renew a prescription. The doctor wasn't all that impressed with my vitals but being sick does mess those up. Next up was a visit to the pharmacy. Picked up art supplies for my grand-daughter that wouldn't be an issue because of messiness. When my guys were small their creative play was more important to me than how tidy the house was - losing battle with six little boys anyway. Not everyone sees it the same way though. If a change in materials preserves the peace that's a small price to pay so that my grand-daughter's creativity isn't squelched in the interim. Right?

The downtown core was busier than I thought for a Sunday but the Chinese Moon festival is officially forecast for Tuesday - the first full moon after the equinox. Chinatown is downtown too. Lots of shopping for special treats to celebrate. To me the theme seems to be a lot like Valentines day only focussed more on family and friends rather than potential mates. A lot more logical than our own hearts day. There were still a number of tourists wandering about - properly fitted out in parkas. I heard British and German accents while waiting for the train home. Conversations about finding their way around an alien city. Very polite though, they were. The two British gentlemen felt they were showing incredible forebearance with respect to their wives who had done their shopping spree and were chewing over the results. Side jokes between two blokes sotto voce of their two fine ladies.

Arrived home filed my report of the work done that day then cleaned house and cuddled cats. They have been really clingy lately. So much so that there is now an argument over who has precedence when it comes to sleeping on my bed - me or them. I think they believe that with the cold weather they are just keeping their human warm but five cats strewn over top of me as I lay under my thick warm comforter isn't all that comfortable. Tough to convey logic to pets who operate under instinct. Read my hard copy and e-newspapers and wrote volumes of correspondence to family and friends. As the doctor said today - I should be very grateful for the life I lead, and I am. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats