Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:39 - 23.09.07
Festivals
Happy Birthday to the Boss. I wonder if Mr Springsteen would consider crafting a song out of Mr Armstrong's words. Seems to fit somehow. My Dad told me that Mr Armstrong came to our city to perform. Apparently our high-end hotel - the Palliser - didn't like Mr Armstrong's "affiliations" either and refused to allow him to check in as a guest. My Dad said this with great sadness and embarrassment. Mr Armstrong never returned to the city. It isn't only US citizens who have a great deal to be ashamed of. That said, racism exists in most communities. Caucasians aren't treated any better in some parts of the globe or even in parts of their own cities, although their money is eagerly accepted. Having lived in a multi-racial/cosmopolitan part of this city for decades, I can attest that intra-racial ("Those Hindus are slippery characters", "Sunni's are not real Muslims", "You can't trust a Taiwanese/Malay") as well as inter-racial prejudices have a strong foothold among the more conservative of each "tribe". Thank goodness for the teachers who work so hard everyday to rebuild the children's sense of community to include all of their classmates/neighbours.

There was a extreme wind warning for parts south of our city yesterday and today. No need to tell me - the migraine threatened to cause an explosion in my head today. With the wind came major pollutants. Couldn't breathe very well either. That said, I did go out anyway to do that one piecework assignment. Hard to decide what to wear, since we had just about every type of weather, but snow cycling through the city at different points in the day. It was hard to focus on the details of the job, but the deadline was today. I explained my inability to focus my attention as quickly as usual to the person I was dealing with and she was sympathetic. Good thing. Interesting information was offered as I expected. One thing about the piecework is that almost every assignment offers up new information that I would not be able to access in any other way. Bonus and brain candy, too!

I ended up shopping - after my banking - in two different malls and on-line, as well. Change of pace anyway. The grocery shopping was pleasant, because there weren't a lot of people in the store. That will happen next weekend as people gear up for the Thanksgiving long weekend coming up. Remember we harvest a lot earlier here in Canada, y'all.I was looking at the ham that is specially cut for Thanksgiving dinners, when one of the butchers slipped up behind me whispering that they would be on sale next week. I love that particular store simply because the staff treat me so well and always seem to be looking out for my best interest. I like the bank that looks after my chequing account for the same reason. See, there is still great customer service out there. Not that all people appreciate good staff. At the other mall, one really pretty woman's face became very ugly indeed when she complained to her younger companion about the staff member who had just spoken with her. "Now you see why I won't shop at this store" The clerk hadn't been the "right" shade of skin colour you see, or maybe it was her accent. Too bad I didn't have a mirror with me so that person could see how disfigured her face became as she mouthed those words. The mall and the train station were chock full of large groups of teens and young adults. Most were chatting animatedly about school and classes - out to buy accessories instead of school supplies form the sounds of it. They were grouped according to age and interests rather than any other defining feature. A lot more Muslims travelling toward their houses of worship today too. Ramadan you see. Fasting required from sunrise to sundown with prayer in lieu. Drssed in their best from countries all over the world, it made for a very colourful travelling experience. Almost made me forget my headache anyway. Other than that just household duties and a lot of correspondence on Facebook and by email.

Time for bed now since I have another assignment tomorrow. I will be witnessing the preparation for a festival from a different part of the world than today's showing, so I need to stay sharp so I get the most out of the experience - right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats