Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:55 - 20.09.07
Equinox
There was no snow this morning, just for the record. Number two son said that there was a bit this afternoon, but that wasn't forecast either. It was frosty and misty though, as I traveled my regular route to downtown. On the train one of the women I spent a lot of time with several contracts ago caught sight of me as she was about to claim a seat on the train. She grabbed me and we found a bench to share so we could talk on our journey. Her husband's business has become quite well established. He now travels around the world on business so one of her big challenges is to balance the needs of their son, her work and her husband's schedule, all at one time. She has a very discreet and gentle manner about her that seems to make everything flow smoothly. From talking with her over the years however, I know how hard she works to make it appear effortless. It is a great skill.

At my son's home my daughter-in-law apologetically allowing that looking after her mom most nights was really making it difficult for her to function. She said she was fearful of the long term consequences for everyone in her inner circle as a result of the stressed time and wmotional issues involved. I suggested that it would likely ease considerably once a placement in a proper long term center was made. Hopefully that will be sooner that the wait now necessary to get a child into an appropriate daycare placement.

My youngest had crashed almost immediately after arriving home last night. I just managed to find out where he had stashed all his dirty laundry before he zonked out. Meant I could prepare everything for him for an easy first morning back at work. He had asked me to call from number two son's home so that he could rise early enough to go on his second formal driving lesson. Managed that but wondered if he was conscious enough to recall that he needed to get out of bed. Not much I could do if he didn't, was there. My grand-daughter looked very tired and she was cranky. Seemed to me as though she hadn't got a lot of sleep the night before. Little Miss Contrary for the first hour of the day - at least until the oatmeal I had brought to share settled in her tummy. One of the newest diversions for her is to fire up the computer and dial into YouTube. She really wanted the mahna, mahna song so we sat on the chair together enjoying the vignette. A sound made me glance toward the stairs as we clicked replay for about the dozenth time. There is a swivel chair near the stairs leading up to the main entryway. Forest green in colour with black metal trim. It had been facing in toward the back of the room - toward the treadmill. As my grand-daughter and I watched it started to turn at a slow, deliberate, smooth pace - one hundred and eighty degrees - so that it was facing the opposite direction facing toward the stairs. It felt to me as though "it" was focussed on an anticipated visit from someone. The hair on the back of my neck was standing on end and my grand-daughter was also watching in silence; saying nothing and not moving a muscle. Very strange.

We had a good day after that though practicing things such as zip the jacket, blow one's nose and counting on our fingers. My grand-daughter enjoyed the Youtube "Fever" clip featuring Animal and Rita Moreno. I searched for the original piece by Peggy Lee. My grand-daughter was absolutely fascinated by her as we sat snapping our fingers and singing with her. Who needs karaoke when one can sing with the artist instead. I hadn't realized how pretty Ms Lee had been. Since she was the same age as my parents I always had seen her as a version of my mom - come to think about it they were a lot alike in facial features. Hmmm.

When I arrived home I found much happier cats roaming the house. Their boy was back so they were celebrating the return, I guess. When he walked in the door several hours later - work seminar - he had a box in his arms. Turns out it was a replacement printer for the one I had to return to Elections Canada back in March. One has no idea how dependent one becomes on such technology until it's gone but I fully appreciate it's impact on my life now. It is one of those all-in-one units that includes fax, scanning, graphics programs as well as the printing fucntion. Ahhhh. There was a bit of a glitch when my son tried to install the drivers but it turned out that the security software had to be turned off for the operation. He had long ago gone off to bed so I managed that task on my own.

I did recall one odd dream during the day - maybe the ghost knocked it loose in my memory for it's own reasons. In it I lived in a very bright airy basement suite while an aboriginal family occupied the upstairs suite. The outside front lawn was one of those long rolling slopes that children delight in playing all sorts of rolling, running and chasing games around. I think there must have been big maple and oak trees nearby, given the amount of scarlet and gold leaves strewn along the emerald green lawn, but I couldn't see any from our living room window. In the dream I was school aged. There just seemed to be my mom, a brother and me in the family setting. I wanted to play with all the other children on the block, but there was a lot of conflict. My mo told me just to play with the girl in the family living above us. We formed a really close bond of friendship over time. In to the mix later when we were teenagers came a man with an "east side Mario's" accent who told me he could gain an in with those other neighbours children now that we were all in senior high. I thought about it but realized somehow that the price that he would extract in exchange for a phony sense of popularity wasn't worth the loss of my true friend. At that point I woke up while watching a scene in a restaurat where it seemed that a fight was breaking out while my friend and I were safely back at home working on a school project together. Don't know what to make of that.

However time for sleep now before I nod off completely. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats