Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:35 - 18.09.07
Who's There?
Still with the server problems dear diary - it is tiring me out to come home to wrestle with the server system. The other odd error message I have been receiving is that the site being sought does not have the capacity to interact with Macs. I don't have a Mac, although I would like one based on reports of their efficiency and stabilty. Apparently the lack of access to some websites hasn't been mentioned as an issue in product reviews though, so I guess a bit more research is in order.

Speaking of which my first attempt at a research piece was approved and published by the internet service I signed on to. There seemed to be a bit of a communication problem within the organization itself, but they are a new - relatively speaking - service. It always takes time to make sure all the cogs and wheels are connecting properly when sharing of the workload is an issue. When setting up an election office it was always the biggest challenge and was critical because dropping the ball serving head office, the political parties, candidates and the public wasn't considered optional. A lot of tiny details, each one of which could trip up the whole enterprise in those vulnerable first stages.

It was nomination day at Silly Hall this morning. The usual flurry of activity and jockeying for position and media coverage part of the process. Less than 20% of eligible voters cast ballots in the last municipal election and that is appalling. However it is typical of a boomtown mentality. As long as most people are focussed on and are making a lot of money, as well as trying to survive the challenge of daily living conditions in a high growth/low services scenario, very little thought is given to governance issues - even though those decisions taken are the most critical in terms of what happens to the average citizen when the economy cools off. Some interesting little wobbles in the initial filing of papers might make some of the campaigns very interesting to watch. Hope the media here are up to the challenge of finding the balance of substantive coverage and delivering it in a way that piques the community's curiosity so that the average joe/jill will get off their duffs and act like bona fide citizens. I've added a link to my Facebook account that encourages any one perusing my profile to vote. Some of the content might generate a bit of controversy but that is the only thing some voters respond to - negativity and conflict. Too bad that that lowest common denominator in any society always seems to drag what should be a great opportunity to work together to build a great community through vigourous debate, down into the sewers. One candidate did knock on my door yesterday, but I was busy fighting the internet demons and missed him. He is known to me and I will consider what he said in his pamphlet, although the current incumbent has done a reasonable job on council as far as I can determine. Have to check her voting record I think.

My grand-daughter and I had a good day today. She was a happy little critter. We did a lot of counting today and she loves doing the "high fives" thang after each sequence. Something her Dad taught her along with the characters in one of her favorite children's programs. Her favorite number is two. Hmmmm. She also loves the alphabet song. She makes me sing that and Old MacDonald over and over again. So much for the classics, eh? We spent a good part of the afternoon looking at the folder of photos on her Dad's computer. I had shown her my Facebook account because it has a photo album of all the grandbabies and she never tires of looking at it. Her Dad's folder has over a hundred pics of all of the family so we had to name everyone and she told me stories about her adventures as we moved through the slide show. She denied vehemently that the baby photos - especially the ones of her in the bath having her hair washed - were really of her. It was quite a lot of fun and enlightening too.

The only odd thing happened around 4 in the pm. We were down in the recreation room when there was the sound of footsteps upstairs on the outside entryways. Someone seemed to be trying both doors. Then they moved over to the next door neighbour's steps that are right up against my son's steps. My grand-daughter became quite upset. She ran across the room when they started and wrapped her arms around my legs, whimpering as she did so. Any other time, in all the days I've spent with her,when we have heard sounds coming from the entryway she will usually scamper up the stairs to see who is there. I did haved the telephone downstairs with me, mostly because it is set at three rings before it goes to voicemail and I can't always get to it on time running up two flights of stairs, you see. Even so I didn't want to call out until I was certain what was happening. By the time I had comforted and disengaged my grand-daughter from me the visitor was out of sight. My son speculated that someone wanting to look at the unit for sale at the front of the property may have thought that his unit was part of the sale package was the likely culprit. That was my first thought too but it doesn't explain my grand-daughter's fear. That young lady rarely shows anything other than curiosity and grit - it just wasn't like her at all.

Anyway time to go to bed so I can race up and down stairs another day. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats