Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:10 - 11.09.07
Sandwich generation
Ms Venus rode high in the midnight blue eastern sky - finally moving forward again - as I stood waiting for the bus this morning. It was relatively warm, but not at all quiet. More fellow travellers than usual waiting for the bus. Tomorrow we will be out travelling under the partial solar eclipse although we won't be able to see it, of ccourse.

The ride across town was smooth and efficient today. I posted off the paperwork that the one employer who interviewed me last week requested at the stop downtown. E-mailed the interviewer to let her know it was on it's way. That theme would continue well into the morning - contact with various employers. The piecework reports I had submitted last week were well received and several positive notes came from that agency. I had had to ask permission to complete the one qc job I had missed on Saturday and was given the go ahead. The one research project that I was working on is now a paid gig too according to an e-mail from a mentor in that organization. Things are looking up. There was one response from an employer that I had sent a resume on the weekend and when I returned home there was a phone number on my call display from an employer I had submitted a resume to at the beginning of August. That is one of the problems with job hunting. The lag time between submitting one's information and actually being contacted for an interview can be unpredictable and very long - even by as much as a few months.

My grand-daughter seemed a bit down today, but played happily with me anyway. Her parents are both stressed, because in addition to losing that daycare space, her mom changing jobs/offices, there is also the issue of coping with her mom's stroke and radically changed life. Her mom is still in a long term care facility and still is fighting to do things such as walk. Not even a walker yet. There are almost no resources for patients over a certain age when it comes to rehabilitation. Means that the money to hire a private care giver is coming out of their pockets. What is of great concern, of course is what happens when the bulge of the baby boom generation hits that age - say within the next decade. The demand for health care services, at a much higher level of quality, is going to become extraordinary.

Politically it will likely become The issue as the generation X group find themselves sandwiched between the needs of their children and their parents with no acceptable consistent or congregated support systems in place for either generation. It is very troubling to contemplate. I suspect my grand-daughter's mood was a reflection of the weekend she had shared with her parents as they strove to look after all the usual demands of running a home, as well as tending to my daughter-in-law's mom's needs.

To keep myself healthy and functional so that I don't become anyone's burden - something I have managed to avoid despite being a single parent the past decade and a half - I guess I'd better trot off to bed so I can do the same thing over again tomorrow. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats