Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:52 - 09.09.07
Escher
I spent a good part of today trying to do catch-up on the computer with all the things that had to be set aside because of the web browser and provider problems. As I key, there is still some instability, but maybe it will go away - right. The first order of business was to file the reports that were required as part of the piecework I am doing. In addition to every other problem, their site was taken down for maintenance over the period of time that I could actually have completed some work. A lot of emails asking for direction and guidance with respect to their operations as well as for the volunteer research project I also took on. I had to cancel the one appointment left for the piecework today because I couldn't miss the deadlines for filing the reports on the work already done. No pay you see if one is late with that aspect of the job. With both my computer and the company's not working I hadn't stood a chance of getting it done earlier.

My oldest son and his two children arrived in the early afternoon. We visited in between those emails and reports - there was a "to the hour" deadline, you see. They had been at an event for children so were festooned with face paint and balloon hats. Their Dad made their lunch while I finished up what I had to do. The two couldn't agree on what movie to watch so their Dad finally picked one neither had asked for or seen before. Labyrinth with David Bowie. He and his brothers had watched that one endlessly when they were teenagers. Quite honestly I really liked the storyline too and didn't tire of hearing the music at any time they chose to play it. Next up, I heard all about their first few days at school - new teachers and friends as well. My son had come by partly because he wanted to pick up some of the old discarded textbooks I have hoarded from when my guys were in school. They still make good reference books in areas such as math, history, literature, and science; not so much so in terms of politics and social studies, of course. He also picked up some vouchers I had received for free admission, so that he can take his children to the equestrian events on in the city tomorrow. I'm really impressed with how much time my son is willing to invest in his children's educations.

I guess role modelling really does work. Remember I was very involved in education issues when he was growing up. That was all brought to the fore with some of the discussion with the friend I had been trying to reschedule time with yesterday. That's how we met many years before - same provincial parent council organization. We couldn't make a face to face visit but we spent an hour or more on the phone just catching up on some of the most pressing issues. Set aside time next week for a face to face confabulation. It is odd, but there is just an intuition driving me to reconnect with various co-volunteers from the past from a variety of the organizations I helped with. Seems to feel as though there is a major issue that will demand some sort of organized response. It isn't to do with the pending elections either.

On Friday my sister and I packed up my grand-daughter and visited one of the biggest malls in the city. One could get lost for days I think, in there. There was a specific store we needed to visit. That early Christmas holiday pre-shop to see what is available and how much it might cost. Clothing store where we spent some time joking with their staff about fashion issues - size matters, so they say. I kept exclaiming that I had had just such a garment - only in other colours - when I was in high school. Sadly they don't fit anymore. Must have shrunk, right? I really like crop/halter tops, leggings and tunic tops as well as sculpted jackets. One of the younger clerks looked appalled that her "unique and new" fashion wear was really as old as - well me. Oh well, she'll get over it. When we were done in that emporium, we headed off to the "make a stuffed toy" store so that my grand-daughter could get some play time too. Her first choice seemed to be a character from one of her television shows - a cow, already. Stuffed aside in a corner was another toy from her Mom's childhood - a cat of a certain design. She snuggled up tightly as soon as we put it in her arms. Maybe I'll have money before Christmas - sigh. I had hoped there would be a message when I returned home from that one interview on Thursday. I had to take some of the paperwork home to complete when we ran overtime that morning, so I am guessing that they won't contact me again until that is all submitted. It seems now that a background and criminal check has become de riguer in this city in the past years. Both of my daughter-in-laws have had to fill out and and submit the same information. Just very odd. As you know dear diary from my posts working in the one downtown industry the successful white collar criminals don't have criminal records, because the companies don't monitor their staff well enough. Come to think of it maybe they have finally realized that they must be more cautious in future hires. If it cleans up some of the offices I've been in I guess it really becomes a community service that might make workplaces much safer and healthier places to be - especially for those workers with less power or access.

I was supposed to babysit for number four son today, but he called late last night to let me know that his boss didn't want the overtime work this weekend. He was a bit frustrated, because he really wanted to do the work he had chosen, but I suggested there might be other factors operating that he wasn't aware of at work. I am pretty certain from things my son has mentioned that something significant is in the works. I would guess that his bosses might not want any loose ends or unforeseen glitches to trip the company up as they make their moves to whatever changes are afoot. My son said they had gone house hunting just before he called me and had found a couple of palces they really liked. House prices are starting to drop quite rapidly - as they should - so they may be able to get something better than they had first anticipated for the money they have to spend. I had really wanted to babysit today more so that I could see the floor plans as well as cuddle with my grandson. That little guy was cooing in the background and playing with his Dad as we talked, sounding very pleased indeed. Guess his teeth aren't giving him such a rough ride any more.

Anyway it is close to sunrise and I have another day of paper/electron work to tackle in a few hours as well as trying to do a week's worth of house cleaning in one day. Guess I should respect the body's demand for rest too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats