Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:39 - 03.09.07
Visions
So continuing with the theme of movies, concerts and live theatre, there was a summary in our local newspaper of the new movies due out in the fall for our viewing pleasure. Surprisingly there are a lot more of the type of fare I prefer available to watch. Let's see then; "3:10 to Yuma"; "The Assassination of Jesse James..." if only because a lot of the film was shot nearby - we have the best scenery if I do say so myself;"The Kingdom"; "Rendition"; "The Kite Runner"; "Lions for Lambs" - if Robert Redford is directing it's got to be good; "Beowulf" - I love Nordic/Celtic mythology; "Enchanted" - well it's Disney; "I'm Not There" - maybe because it sounds so creative; and definitely "Sweeny Todd" - I can't wait to hear Johnny Depp sing. Overall there are some definite trends evident in my choices, but there's nothing wrong with that. Is there?

I spent several hours today on that no-pay research project. Why? Well firstly the subject matter I was researching fascinated me. I learned a lot that filled in gaps in my own knowledge, but I also noticed that there are gaping holes in the information about it on the internet. As it was though it made me want to dig to much deeper levels - and I will - for my own pleasure. All sorts of magical or adventurous stories flitted through my mind as I was working away on the layout and style of the project. That is the second reason I want to be involved. You see, I am learning another layer to the skill of coding a webpage and I am being forced to show some discipline when it comes to aethetics - someone else's take on the matter. As you may have noticed dear diary, I am very poor at dealing with demands of conformity. The value in this instance is that the style requirements of the organization free one to focus on substance and content instead of packaging. You have also heard my frustration with all things that come neatly and prettily packaged, but with no substance. This time I get both without sacrificing what is important to me. Creative control and no micromanagement - at least not yet. I submitted my work for approval so we'll see how the response is to what I've produced. I guess I was born needing to write like some people are born needing to dance or to paint. Just a part of breathing somehow.

It also slowed down the obsessive need I have to play some of the games, like sudoku and mah jong, to excess. I do that when I am stressed and need a diversion challenging enough to turn off the negative thoughts - that monkey on one's back - so that solutions can work their way out of my head instead. It isn't necessarily the worst addiction in the world, and, one could argue with reasonable success, that it is a form of comtemplation advocated by many meditation systems, but it is a barrier to productivity. Doing the research page gave me much more satisfaction in the end and it will make it easier for a lot of other people to learn about the subject I chose.

I did send out more resumes today too. Sigh. Well I have to keep trying to get paid work, don't I? If it weren't for the looming spectre of unpaid bills - the dementors of my life - I wouldn't change much about the way my life is unfolding now. I love looking after my grandbabies, my sons and doing the research work, but those cats want kibble in their bowls don't you know. Speaking of said felines, there seems to be an intent to herd me to bed. Not necessarily a bad idea, I guess. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats