Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:16 - 31.08.07
Conformity=Morbidity
Happy Birthday to Richard Gere! Another celebrity that should get the air time now dedicated to the drama kings and queens.

British Harrier jets were executing manoeuvres from our nearby airport this evening. I don't know what it sounds like to the gentlemen in the cockpits, but from this perspective it sounded very much like the fighter pods in the original Star Wars movie. I kept expecting to hear the hum of light sabres being activated with the mellifluous voice of Obi Wan Kenobi directing those pilots "to use the force". It was becoming too eerie for me - it was as though I was seeing or had moved in to another time or place where those jets were engaged in real combat and I didn't like it - not one bit. I kept hoping Master Yoda or Qui-Gon Jinn would appear as the jets carried on their drill. Peace makers not fighters, they were. I remember the one tech who worked with my Dad talking about the Battle of Britain and what it was like on the streets of London at that time. Direct witness report. Hmmmm.

A lot of interesting information about illness, health care and research in my e-newsletters today. Most about alternative therapies and people with enough courage to accept the shunning and ridicule in order to stand by their priniciples of placing the patients' needs first. In addition continuing coverage of the stellar light shows "There goes Jupiter,here comes Mars. Bend and stretch reach for the stars...." coming up for September. Another way of supporting our peace keepers without being drawn in to appear to be supporting the political antics of some of our elected officials. There is some interesting debate, or at least some sustainable alternatives to current policy and practices, occurring at various levels of society. Survivors like the woman in the last linked story often find that their life becomes even harder when they try to protect themselves. That is because the survival of the status quo seems to be valued at the expense of the lives of those hurt and entrapped in dangerous or deadly circumstances by the prejudices and stereotypes held by too many citizens who would never survive if faced with similar circumstances. Hopefully those innovative and compassionate ideas/actions won't be shot down or repressed as quickly as they usually are. Then there is mother nature at it again. These spider webs would have added a lot of reality to either the story of the Hobbit and the trip through Mirkwood or in the Harry Potter Chamber of Secrets movie. Where's Peter Jackson when you need him? After my encounter with one such venomous creature, I think I would be among those who would prefer not to get too close to their webs. Oh and then for those who have no sense of toilet humour - there you are.

I spent more time working on that one job that is piece work today. It doesn't pay well as I've noted before, but the more I work through the training the more I want to find something similar that will allow me to support myself. I don't mind working hard nor do I mind a role that is basically anonymous. What fascinates me is the amount of new information I've learned in a very short while. Brain candy, y'all. It likely won't play well on my resume because of that but I don't see myself surviving long in any position where the most important attribute one can have is conforming and reflecting back only what the corporate hierarchy dictates. We talk about being an open and democratic society, but the advice of most career coaches seems to be to shut down all one's critical faculties and to adopt only those ideas and attitudes that have corporate approval. What causes even greater stress and distress is when friends and family also insist on that conformity in exchange for being accepted as part of the group. That seems to have been a constant theme the past few months. Maybe when Mr Saturn moves into the astrological constellation of Virgo in a few days that will stop. "I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult?" Real love isn't conditional nor does it try to claim that acts of abuse or exploitation are for one's own good.

So tonight I think I'll meditate on real love and leave the rest of the rationalizations where they belong. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats