Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:42 - 09.08.07
family time
Ahhhhh. Rain on the roof and the temperature dropping. Gives me a sense of security, something that has been badly lacking in my life the past few months. I'm hoping the mountains got a good soaking. The less forest fires the better - I like breathing without my inhaler.

I was having some really frustrating dreams last night. First up a boy about 8 years old, buzz cut and glasses started harassing me while I was at home. He insisted on entering without permission and then started to vandalize the place inside and out when I tried to make him leave. Had that attitude of entitlement that comes from parents who never say no to them. Next up the dream expanded to include the park across the street. Two girls both bigger than me but probably in their early teens. They wandered over to the other side of the duplex and broke in through the front windows. In the dream the windows were the latched type and those two were hanging out the windows trying to attract the attention of some older male teens. It seemed as though the house was unoccupied - or maybe the tenants were on vacation - and they had decided it was a good place to party. I called the police, since it was a break and enter while I was still trying to deal with the spoiled brat who was at my door. I think he took off when the squad car arrived but was waiting somewhere nearby. I can't fathom that part of the dream at all, it just irritates me.

Number five son called yesterday. Just checking in. He has started practicing for his driver's test too. The more sons roadworthy the better I guess. He had given his notice several weeks ago and said he really needed a break from the restaurant industry. He was offered a couple of raises during the notice period but he is determined to try something else. He has been staying with his girlfriend - her home being much cooler than the one he shares with his brother. There are a number of homes for sale all around them but he says he hasn't seen any prospective buyers in the past few weeks. The area of the city they live in is quite a distance from number two son's community so it seems to confirm that the housing market is cooling off substantially. The summer is usually the busiest season for home sales here - who wants to move in the middle of the winter mud and slush if they don't have to. Grant you it might be smarter to check out houses then to see if they cope well with winter weather. Hmmmmmmm.

Number one son arrived around noon today with his two children in tow. He has dropped the second job for the summer so that he can spend time with them. He wants them to have happy memories of their summers so he has been taking them off to the library and various parks in their travels together. I'm really proud of his parenting and his willingness to put his children first. Today it was a short visit - only about three hours. Lunch was flat bread pizza, juice and cold chicken. My granddaughter spent most of her time drawing. She and her Dad took a break later on and went picking raspberries and cherries out back in my garden. I think my son was enjoying remembering the summers when he and his brothers gorged on that fruit during their summer holidays. My grandson wanted to watch Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Being kind of a cloudy, gloomy day it felt like a good choice too. I spent the balance of the day catching up on housework and laundry - now that it's cool enough to run the dryer. My youngest is working long hours right now and I miss chatting with him in the evenings. We talk while I make him supper but sometimes he just wants to sleep when he gets home. I understand that feeling very well.

Time for bed now though. Maybe the dreams will be better tonight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats