Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:16 - 07.08.07
promises
I spent a lot of time on the phone today. Most of that was with number two son. His partner was bitten somewhere on her bicep by something as she slept last week. Her initial physical reaction was the same as mine. A hugely swollen arm that turned a very bright red that spread from joint to joint. She went into work the day it happened, but by nightfall my son took her into their local clinic. They gave her antibiotics and sent her home. Her bite isn't located within the joint itself like mine was, so it seems the medicine may be enough to allow her to heal without further ado. They were thankful it wasn't their daughter that had been bitten. Me too. My son was noting - as we were speculating on likely economic conditions for the fall - that a number of homes around them had been up for sale for well over a month. No buyers, not even with drops in listing prices. If the economy cools off slowly, that will be a benefit to those of us living here. Prices on everything from basic groceries to luxury items have made a lot of things unavailable to most of us. Included in that is childcare. The daycare where my granddaughter attends announced that they may be closing the service to the age group within which my granddaughter fits, because they have lost their last staff member for that group. Two weeks notice is what my son and his partner have been given to find alternate care. I offered to try and work something out so that I can look after both my youngest grandchildren, but I can't afford to do that for long - I need to be making a wage that can pay my bills. My son understands why the last caregiver for the baby room quit - it was for the same reason. I suggested he write his Member of Parliament since that was one of their biggest reasons for getting the votes they did. No follow through at all yet - except for cutting benefits and programs both. Uh huh. Number one son called not after that. He sounded beat and was still at work. No long weekend break for him.

Not much else to say for myself. More resumes out, more research about a variety of health topics as family and friends ask for information. I did put aside an ad for singing lessons for myself, but I don't know why. Even when I get a job, there is a very long list of necessities, like a replacement storm door to start, that need to be attended to immediately. I'm hoping the mind knows something I don't, but I can't envision how that would work out and I don't know why it settled on singing lessons. Oh well, everyone deserves to have a dream don't they? Speaking of which I guess is my next project for the day. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats