Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:15 - 18.07.07
Gibbous
I guess it's a good thing that the portable intra-venous pump inserted into my undamaged forearm is on batteries. This morning we had a brief power outage that came with that first big lightning strike that hit at 5:30 in the am. It has been unbearably hot since I last posted to you - in the 30's+ C with the humidex considered. The cats have actually taken to following me around asking for some of the room temperature water I have kept in their jug to be poured over their lower backs just to cool off a bit. They also have been stealing my best friend lately - the ice packs that I have been using for pain reduction, as well as to cool down. No air conditioning in this unit. Best I can do is "hair conditioning" - soaking my waist length hair then letting the drying cool me down too. I have to re-soak my head about every 90 minutes, because it is straw dry by then. We had a second power outage for about 90 minutes in the afternoon today too. Not even a fan to move the heavy, humid air. Bleagh.

The abscessed arm? More twists and turns in that story, but with one gibbled arm and one with a needle running through, I won't be able to key long enough to catch up the story. I am supposed to go into the hospital tomorrow to hopefully have the pump removed and then I can "talk" about it more thoroughly. My appointment is for in the early morning - the first appointment I've been allowed. All the other times I have had to go in and sit in the emergency room until they had time for me - usually six hours all together. When one is really ill the last thing one needs is to be required to travel from site to site - "what do you mean you don't have a vehicle and can't afford a cab?" and then have to sit for hours on end with other people equally as sick passing on their illness to you and vice versa. No wonder the health care system is overwhelmed.

Anyway my pump is set to administer another dose of antibiotic shortly and my Dad and his neighbour are insisting they are coming to do work on my home early in the morning too. I need to rest up. What frustrates me most is that they both constantly help other people out - like me - even though they aren't all that well and could use some extra help themselves. It bothers me that I am not able to help them instead. The way it should work. I hate being gibbled. Bleagh again and good night for now. Tomorrow will be when things starting getting better. Right dear diary?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats