Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

19:00 - 06.07.07
crisis
While waiting for my oldest son to arrive I went back to my computer to try and fix an error I had made during a fit of felirium the day before. You see, I had sent an e-card to a friend who was having a bad year. It was her birthday so I thought I could also ask "how are you" without prying too much. An e-card showed up in the Saturday mail that I assuemed was from her. One of those return thank you cards that some services offer. Opened it up and realized quite quickly that something was wrong - just lines of script showing. Sure enough not ten minutes later one of my tech e-newsletters arrived with warning about that very specific virus attack. Oh no! I was pretty out of it on SAturday so I put off the work necessary to check for damages simply by turning the computer off and unplugging it until I could do the job properly. The article stated that this virus built on a virus that installed itself on an earlier pass. Oh great. I started digging around in the root directory trying to locate anything that looked like it might be malicious. The article hadn't given any details as to the string of code inserted - just of its existence. I'm not all that competent at reading code so I just tok the bits that didn't seem to fit and put them in recycle for my youngest to look at. He doesn't know much more than me but a second pair of eyes are always welcome. Right? Ran all the security programs I have access to directly after that and the computer began to run at it's nrmal pace again.

Being that it wsa Canada Day my oldest had taken the time to let his two children wander through all the festivities going on in the downtown on Prince's Island Park. As a result those grandbabies arrived from their extended journey excited and very hungry. That excitement grew when they found out their uncle had just bought a new electronic toy to play with with enough controllers for all four players. It's the toy that requires physical action to move the players objects about. They wer quite content to try out tennis, golf, bowling, badminton as well as the Zelda game while grandma just kept the food and drinks coming. Then after they were really tired they watched one movie as well. Headed home about one in the am. My youngest had the next dat off so we thought we could just rest the next day.

As it turned out my youngest walked into my room at eight in the am. His best buddy had just been kicked out of his home and would be coming to stay with us within the next five minutes. Oi! A flurry of activity trying to figure out how to accommodate his needs while realizing at the same time that I would have to get in to see a doctor some time sooner or later that day. All that activity the day before had caused the arm to double up in size again and it felt as though the entire structure was going to explode. My son's friend is a really nice young guy. Goes to college, has a job or two, hits the gym frequently and still manages a fairly active social life. Those were the days.In every cultural group I've spent time with there is always a segment of really dysfunctional parents who believe their child is a failure if they haven't achieved the title of doctor or lawyer. this young guy has a lot going for him but he likely won't become either of those professions. It is just not part of his personality. His mom calls him weak, stupid and lazy on a regular basis both to his face and behind his back. He is the second of her children to be tossed out as not useful and the one daughter who is following that path still had to leave because mom was putting so much pressure on her.Anyway my son did a fair amount of listening to his buddy in the morning while I tried to get things in the household into a more useable arrangement. By noon I was in agony. I called my youngest upstairs to talk with him because I knew I wasn't going to be able to get to the clinic by myself. He was quite perturbed with me - until he saw my arm. Uh huh. That arm is really tired right now so I'll continue with the rest of the story once it is rested.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats