Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:59 - 19.06.07
Cell - u - lar
Happy Birthday Aung San Suu Kyi.

Seven homes in the city were hit by lightning around 4 in the pm from an unexpected storm cell burst. Some of that lightning struck very close to here given the many sirens sounding just after the booming stopped. My youngest and I both knew of the storm's presence the day before, because we had weather migraines starting around 11 pm last night. The intensity of the migraine is usually greater the closer and faster the weather system is moving. My head felt as though it was going to explode. The cats felt so sorry for me that they brought their mice onto my bed as comfort toys. Usually I scrunch up one of the stuffed bears when the discomfort becomes too much. When I was posting to you last night I could barely see the keyboard, so I was surprised that I was coherent at all. In addition to the lightning strikes there was hail as well as snow in the mountains - about 60 miles from here. No funnel clouds today though so that was one good thing. The other good thing was that my hearing has returned to normal. There must have been a blister or hydrocele formed around the eustachian tube that burst at some point. Maybe that was part of the source of that pain too. Don't know and don't care as long as there isn't any further problem.

My youngest had the day off and we had planned to go shopping for a hose to fix the washing machine. I wasn't able to leave home because of the migraine so he went off by himself. Came back with shoes, shorts and computer games. Uh huh. He was all excited about finding the clothes on sale. Guess that means he really has reached adulthood. We were discussing driving lessons for him again. Most of the good agencies are booked up for the summer so it may have to wait a bit but at least he can put his name on their waiting list. Given he's not yet 20 it has the potential to cut his car insurance costs down by nearly half. A good investment in a number of ways. The migraine also meant I didn't send out resumes today. My posts to you the past couple of days should illustrate clearly that I wasn't able to deal with details all that well. Just little things that maybe no one else would notice but it bothers me to make any slip ups. On a resume such things can really work against you.

I heard from number three son last night. More trouble from Elections Canada. Remember he had stepped into the breach to help me transfer all the relevant boxes of material to the replacement Returning Officer in March. On Friday he received what appeared to be a payroll summary for that completed work. The only problem was that there was the amount to be paid listed and then that entire amount was shown as deducted to pay things like taxes. It is bad enough that I still haven't been fully reimbursed and likely never will, but do they really have to stiff local service providers and contractors as well? My youngest observed that maybe that was part of the reason so many companies that deal with the government try to charge considerably more than the local rate for their services. If you recall that was a constant problem for me, both in getting fair contracts negotiated with those providers and then making certain that they were paid in full after an event. I still don't know if those last two companies were paid, but I don't have any influence now. I wrote my son back - he had emailed - and suggested he contact the new Returning Officer who he had done the work for and also the finance department in Ottawa. About all I can think of right now. Sigh.

I think I need to get some sleep though dear diary so I can catch up on some of that lost time today. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats