Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:36 - 17.06.07
Dark of the Moon
I didn't really sleep last night dear diary. I really don't feel safe at night - sleeping that is. Nightmares. I only report the working dreams to you; the others don't bear telling. Besides that one of our radio stations announced that Buddy Guy would be playing in town at the end of July. Well of course that led to youtube. If I had stopped when I had listened to the Buddy Guy clips it would have been ok, but then there was Eric, then BB, then Gary Moore, Stevie Ray Vaughan, then Muddy Waters and then Phil again, oh and new uploads of Howlin Wolf. The Blues take away my blues and give me a lot of energy. I can sleep later.

Not only that, but the monsoon continued with distant rumbles of thunder sweeping the night sky. There were supposed to be noctilucent clouds visible, but not with the cloud cover we've had. I think we've had another 100 mm rain in the past 24 hours with another 50 to 100 mm predicted to fall before the storm passes late tomorrow. Severe thunderstorm warnings, high river advisories for all our local waterways and a funnel cloud touching down just east of here. The one good thing is that it is too cold for it to be a fully fetched-up tornado. I finally was dozing off to sleep when I heard a very odd grinding sound coming from nearby. It was 7:30 in the am by then. Peeked out the front room curtains and noticed one of the good neighbours who lives in the house across the street, standing outside. They had their lawnmower out trying to power it up, but the grass was so wet that it was waterlogging the blades. The machine was just giving off gurgling sounds. I was worried that the neighbour might end up electrocuted for their trouble and really it wouldn't have been worth it. The blades on their lawnmower are set at the grass equivalent of a buzz cut. The neighbour's grass might be half an inch maximum in height right now. What that little scenario told me was that it was very unlikely that I would be able to use my Dad's electric hedge trimmer to shape my trailing, rain-bedraggled cotoneasters today. Maybe it will drown those pesky mosquitos though. I did use epsom salts to rinse away the itch those critters had inflicted last night when I showered. It helped a bit, but after trying all the regular herbal remedies today I finally gave up and took an anti-histamine when that bite at the angle of the jaw resulted in my hearing being compromised. A lot of pain in that right side of the face too. I don't want to end up with complications for being stubborn now, do I? Even as I key, the rain is still coming down in gouts and pouring off the roof all through the eavestroughs. As long as the roof and support fixtures can hold up for another 24 hours we should be ok. The one thing about being located on glacial till is that the water drains a little better. As long as it doesn't settle in any of the clay ponds we should be good to go.

I got my youngest off to work and looked after the cats' physical comfort - litterboxes and stuff - before going back to bed. After raising six children and dealing with dirty diapers for about a dozen years, litter boxes and laundry just aren't that big a deal to me. It's all relative after all. Today working on the computer was a research and "think with the mouse" day, once I awoke again. Called number five son to see how he was coping. His cold is getting worse and he is still going in to work. He promised that he would go for his two week check up, but not to the original hospital one city away. I guess I need to bite my tongue, but I just don't want to see him develop complications from not taking care of himself. Sigh. Called number four son too. Their first wedding anniversary is tomorrow and it's his first father's day as well. At the family gathering a week ago there were multiple compliments from the elders conveyed to me about his parenting skills. No surprise - he dotes on his little guy. Besides that, growing up in this house there were always little brothers on whom to practice - remember. By the time my youngest was old enough to notice, my oldest son was having his first child and my youngest got in all the child care - and family dynamic lessons he could wish. Tonight he walked in with an offering of butter chicken. This time it included both chicken, instead of just sauce, as well as naan bread. Yum. He said one of the women in the office does a regular run to one of the nearby East Indian restaurants. Two nights of relief from cooking duties - not that they are onerous, just tedious. See, my youngest had absorbed a great deal about creating harmonious family dynamics hasn't he?

I think I'm tired enough now that the nightmares won't get me, so good night dear diary. Sweet dreams to you too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats