Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:42 - 29.05.07
Mining
The wind and the trees engaged in a riotous, joyful dance for most of today. It was beautiful to watch, but I was glad I was indoors all the same. At dinner time the meteorologists were chatting away together about the effect of this type of weather. It makes breathing rather difficult for those suffering from allergies or asthma.

That said, I spent about four hours in my son's room clearing out most of the rest of the material that has been stored there for the past couple of years. It was the only empty space left after all the Elections Canada material was distributed around the rest of our domicile. All that dust stirred up meant that I needed to take an anti-histamine anyway, followed up by a good long, hot shower to get rid of the allergens after I was done. On balance to the good, I found a bucket load of tools and home maintenance hardware that I knew had to have been hidden somewhere.

All the remaining sports equipment was buried under the rubble as well. Footballs, soccer balls, fishing rods and reels, road hockey gear, tennis rackets, golf clubs, weights, and ice skates - a box of those too. Even a curling broom that hasn't seen action for a decade or so. Nearby a set of crutches and various splints, tensor bandages and support braces to complete the set. Even though I wasn't able to complete my physiotherapy degree, I still constantly used the skills culled from those classes and my time spent working in the rehabilitation department at our biggest hospital strapping up and keeping mobile the boys' Dad, who played every sport before alcohol took him over, as well as each son in their turn as they tried out just about every sport available to them through their schools. No lacrosse players sadly, but greco-roman wrestling, rugby, golfing, sailing, curling and all the usual team sports as well.

I now have a stack of boxes ready to be put into storage. I also found a sink full of missing-in-action dishes, photos and books for which I have been searching for a long time. There are now also several drawers filled with electronic games and toy action figures - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles anyone? - that have amused and occupied my sons over their childhoods. The cats were ecstatic that I uncovered some really interesting new smells for them to savour as I worked away. They are so easy to please. That plus more quack grass were all they asked of me today. Hopefully tomorrow I can finish the rest completely - a pile of clothes - although I do need to find a way to get my washer resurrected before I can call it done for good. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats