Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:58 - 28.05.07
-
I checked out facebook a couple of days ago. My motivation was to find other avenues to communicate with some of my sons. They are all so busy that even the ones that live together can't often say they've seen their roommate for weeks at a time. I don't want to interfere in their lives, but I do want to be able to find them, just in case. When I checked to see who in my address book was enrolled in the system there were a couple of surprises. For one thing less than 5% of my contacts have accounts. The demographics given out in the media indicate that it is the 20 to 30 something group that is taking up most of the space. I have a lot of people in that age group on my list, but it was actually the older age group that was best represented. Maybe it's the company I keep. In all fairness the sampling wasn't that big so maybe there is a statistical wobble that I haven't accounted for yet. I also spent time on the Edgar Cayce site trying to recall some of the herbal and alternative treatments he provided for various ailments. I spent a lot of time studying his work when I was a young adult and it seems that it is important to reconnect with those teachings now.

I'm really enjoying stair climbing now that I sing along with Mr Pavrotti's Christmas tape as I go. Close to an hour in length. I don't really notice the time or effort - until I stop. For one thing my breathing automatically becomes deeper and slower as I try to match him note for note. I had an exceptional choir teacher for part of my childhood. I think her father was a famous conductor or something. We had the benefit of classical voice training under her tutelage as a result of her upbringing but she always made certain that we tried music that appealed to our age group too - in many languages. Our choirs won at the Kiwanas music festival even with some exceptional competition from all over the province. We were taught to breathe deeply and bring the notes up from the diaphragm - the muscle that divides the chest cavity from the abdominal cavity. She taught us to use it like a drum - percussion instrument. Normally when I'm climbing I notice my breathing is too shallow and fast to be effective for rehabilitating my lungs. However when I put on the Christmas tape, all those good habits learned years ago kick in automatically because a lot of the songs on the tape are what we sang during choir practice over several years. I can't recall all the verses, but I do have the sheet music for my electric organ. I think maybe I'll pull it out of storage and start practicing playing again. I need the job hunt to bear fruit soon, dear diary. If I didn't have all those bills to pay for necessities I think I would be quite happy just being a human being again. I'm going to find it difficult to rejoin the paid workforce if something doesn't come up soon. There are a few companies that have choirs formed of their employees. Maybe I should see if there is a place there for me.

Yoga now comes after the climbing because by the time I'm done singing I'm more than ready to move into a meditative state. My breathing is already at a good level so it makes the practice much easier to complete. The cats now form a respectful - mostly - circle just out of reach of my full stretch on the floor for a few of the asanas. They seem to have decided that when I climb the stairs they will follow suit - running up and down chasing each other and playing some very complicated game involving toy mice and hockey style face-offs in the corners of the landing. When I move to asanas they join in or weave about me, but at that respectful distance - or maybe they're just afraid I might fall on them if they upset my balance. I might at that.

When I was sleeping earlier I was in the middle of a rather interesting dream. I seemed to be in a three storey office building that was mostly empty. Some of the people from my last downtown contract and some from the last election's office staff were there and it seemed we were trying to clean up some of the offices. My financial officer from the election was vaccuuming and sweeping the floors but she didn't seem to want have anyone see her doing it. Sweeping something under the rug was what seemed to be her motive. Strange for her to be so secretive. I was trying to persuade her to tell me what was going on and was lifting the carpet to have a look at what was underneath. That's when the cats started yowling. Apparently some outside cats were in their backyard, don't you know. The one male cat was huge and had a ruff like a lion's, but with a sunburst surrounded in darker brown. Very cool cat that. Any way time for a nap now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats