Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:14 - 09.05.07
Jitterbug
I owe Warner Brothers an apology. I made the classic error of posting information from a trusted site without checking facts independently. It turns out that they had not authorized the enhanced posters that we were taking issue about. When they learned of the problem they resolved it immediately. I am sincerely sorry for offering misinformation to you, dear diary, and also sorry for impugning the good name of Warner Brothers as well.

I am rather sunburned at the moment. I went out walking for a couple of hours this morning with the one friend who was paralyzed about 18 months ago. It is hard to detect any remaining damage that she initially experienced. Having worked in a rehabilitation department, I know that she must have worked incredibly hard to recuperate and regain her motor skills to the degree she has done. She was telling me that the one good outcome is that there has been a reconciliation within the family that would likely never have happened without that illness. Sometimes emotional and psychological wounds can cause much more pain and suffering than physical ones. When we used to talk before she got sick, it was obvious that she was suffering a great deal from that dysfunctional family dynamic. The change in her self-image and self-confidence is significant.

We also talked about what had happened with Elections Canada. She felt very strongly - having worked in the office - that the posting of this electoral district was in retaliation for my exposing the problems with the electors list with the organization and the political parties and for insisting that the legislation be applied where violations of it occurred. I told her about the political machinations I had witnessed over my two decades of volunteer work and the scary things that occurred when I had co-chaired the local Amnesty International group. I was trying to sort out, with her help, where some of the harassment that has occurred in both my contract positions and even with respect to my home, was coming from. Was it a single source where a linking of illegal and immoral practices permeated the public and private business sectors, even reaching into volunteer and community based initiatives. It sounds absurd and paranoid, but that is exactly how Huey Long and friends maintained their power base. Even though his initiatives appeared to have helped a lot of people over time, there is also clear evidence of the amount of destruction he caused through his political bullying. In the instance here in this city, it is the drugs and illegal arms trade with a side of controlling the sex trade that is at issue.

She stated that she knows another woman who has also followed a life path similar to mine. Her friend was deeply involved in volunteer activities and then used her credibility built up from that to hold elected officials and their cohorts to account. My friend noted that she felt that I had scared the perpetrators so badly in the past few years that they were now trying to destroy me with respect to finances, just as she had observed them do to her other friend. Apparently the other female has been blackballed in her career sector and is now under attack with respect to the security of her housing situation. I can believe that, because I have witnessed a number of high placed whistle-blowers who have tried to hold the provincial government to account in the areas of child welfare, health care, and the environment being drummed out of the province through the same form of economic assault - being refused access to work in their career sector - or by truly vicious character assassination that has shredded their credibility as individual citizens and within their professional community. Amnesty International now cites governments of other countries - Korea and China come to mind - for just exactly that strategy. Remember the story of the one Chinese judge who was charged with spurious assertions of corruption and then murdered while in custody? I also recall one Chinese family contacting the local Amnesty International group when one of their family members was charged with crimes in China. The remark that really threw me was that they were grateful that the charges were of criminal wrong-doing rather than of political malfeasance. Apparently one has a much better chance of surviving the prescribed punishment, if that is the case. Of course, the conversation this morning didn't make me feel any better about the fact that I am having trouble with my job search, but it does validate some of the suspicions and observations I have harboured about some of the behind the scenes interference that appears to be occuring from some source with the potential employers I have contacted. I told her about some of the very strange questions and comments that I had been subjected to in some of the interviews I've had since last August. They only make sense when the pattern among all the interviews is considered. All I need is to have my already very active paranoia reinforced, isn't it? But I think you can also recall those links I made to that whistleblower protection site describing similar experiences to mine and that of the one politician who has also had to cope under the same kind of conditions.

I needed to have a nap after that physical and mental exercise. When I woke up I retraced part of the route my friend and I had walked that morning so as to get to the grocery store for my weekly shop. I had just finished putting all the groceries away when my youngest arrived home from work. We chatted as I prepared supper. He had worked out some changes to his schedule with his boss, so we can now revisit the issue of his pre-booked flights. That was what the set-to had been about yesterday. You see I had agreed to use my loyalty points to book those flights, but that means there are restrictions that wouldn't occur if one paid cash for the airfare. Even though I explained that, I don't think he fully understood that he couldn't choose his time of travel. That is one of the downsides of the program. He's calmer now that his boss has allowed him to work around that perturbation in his plans. When I had returned home from the walk with my friend I found that the front door had been unlocked again and the cats were all in hiding, so that was another point of discussion as were the thoughts that my friend had expressed about what was being done to me. We discussed various actions we could take, but having access to cash to institute some of them - like buying a new storm door for the entry to our home, one with upgraded security features - is one of the barriers that I have to find a way around. Too bad there isn't a more established barter system in this country. It is discouraged by all levels of government because it isn't taxable, you see.

I putzed around out in the front yard and in the garden after that. This morning I had caught that first whiff of the scent of lilacs and I was curious to see how my other perennials were coming along. What was curious throughout the entire day was the number of honeybees I saw wherever I went. Remember in the news there have been reports from the US, Canada, the UK and mainland Europe about a massive, unexplained die off of their bees. Apparently it isn't a problem here. There are lilies of the valley, honeysuckle and crocuses blossoming in my front garden today. Next up should be my hawthorn, it's the slowpoke of the bunch. According to legend, planting a hawthorn tree by one's door is supposed to repel nightmares. Maybe when mine blooms my nightmares will disappear. I'll take what help I can get where that is concerned. I'm hoping the little shoots I noticed by the front door are the tiger lilies that didn't really take off last year. I think I recall reading that it takes a couple of years for them to really establish themselves.

Anyway I can hear the birds beginning to twitter outside, so I guess I should get some sleep. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats