Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

04:23 - 06.05.07
dancing in the light
It's already half past 4 in the am dear diary so this post will be short, I think. I had promised myself a couple of weeks ago to not stay up any later than 2 in the am. Haven't managed that even half the time since.

I got to thinking about that phone call last night - the one supposedly from the RCMP. After the fact I checked my call display - that call was blocked - so no way of tracking where it came from. A second thought was that the caller had never identified herself. I had asked who she was and that was when she stated she was from the RCMP. Any other time I have had telephone communication with them they have always started off with their name and rank. The caller offered neither. So who was she really and why was she calling me at that time of night. As if I don't have enough paranoia going on without that thrown in.

Today was productive once I woke up. I hadn't actually managed to get into bed unti 5:30 in the am because that phone call was bugging me so much, you see. Once out of bed new-to-the-house curtains were hung in the living room. First my youngest had to switch out the drapery rods and changed their position too. The retired curtains had been damaged when we had the house full of cats, but I just didn't have the time or energy to do anything about them until now. Remember those secondhand purple sheers that my sister picked up for me about a year ago? Well they don't quite fit the window, but when I was cleaning out the one closet I found a pair of elegantly appliqued white on white sheers that had been my grand-parents. My one sister had passed them on to me several years ago, but with a house full of active young sons and then our cats I felt they were too precious to risk damaging even inadvertently. Now that those factors have changed I thought maybe I could pair the two sets up on the one new drapery rod. Worked like a charm. The cats are not all that fussed about it because it means that the stool they sit on at the window and watch the birds and squirrels has been moved to the corner of the window instead of sitting in the middle. Mr Mel decided he would push that stool "back where it belonged" snorting with indignation as he went. I think my tone of voice warned him that insubordination in this matter would not be tolerated. The stool is still at the window - just in a different place, get over it.

My youngest and I worked together to wash out the stairways and landings as well tonight. I started working on my own because he hasn't had a full day off in a long while and he's been sick. However, I find lifting buckets full of water up and downstairs a bit tiring after a while. He helped me with some of the lifting and shifting as a result, once he realized what I was doing. An extended discussion ensued about how to refurbish the stairs. I bought ceramic tiles for the landings, kitchen and bathrooms before the last election was called. Remember. I've been too ill since then to act on getting that work done - not to mention that there's no money to hire anyone either. That may actually have been a good thing since it has forced me to think my plan out more thoroughly. My youngest thought tile on the stairs would be elegant - and so it would. But cream coloured tile in a location where ice snow and mud are potential issues for half the year makes that choice too risky in terms of someone slipping and falling. Next he mentioned carpeting - a sturdy berber maybe - but then there is the amount of cat hair shed between our five felines. There are days when I pick up handfuls of their hair on the stairs. It would cling to carpet and get ground into the fibers. Most of my upstairs flooring is wood. I think that if I can find a match it would best address the many challenges I've mentioned and it looks great too. Another alternative would be slate but it is very expensive here and anyone who fell might have a lot more damage to their body than I care to risk. Still need to think on that I guess.

Other than that I sent off a couple more resumes and read parts of my three on the go books as well. Broaden the mind, then climb my stairs to avoid broadening other parts of the body. Anyway the birds are starting to sing to greet the dawn and I've broken that promise to myself once more. I also keep hearing strains of Strauss waltzes flowing through my mind. That's been going on for several days now and occasionally I almost feel as though I am present in an elegant ballroom dancing along. I'm not certain if that is a Venusian thang but now that I've have sheer curtains on the living room windows I guess I'll have to be careful not to dance too close to them, eh? Good night (morning) dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats