Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:33 - 30.04.07
At rest
I couldn't sleep last night after writing to you, dear diary. Could be I was over-stimulated - what with all that fresh air, sunshine and exercise. Could also be that astrological conjunction between Mars, Uranus and my natal moon. My nervous system did seem overloaded no matter what the cause. I lay twitching and turning under the covers on my bed. Nightmarish negative thoughts were swirling about in my brain as though some ill-natured wanna-be psychic/psycho was practicing their mesmerizing techniques on me in the run up to the full moon due in a few days. Not quite Midsummer's Night Dream, but close enough. Get thee gone mad Mab. On the other hand, maybe the planets Mars and Uranus were duking it out instead of conjuncting. Anyway, I finally gave up and got out of bed. This pleased the cats. Apparently I was interrupting their lovely feline dreams. I fussed around the house until about an hour before my youngest was due to get up so he could make it to the comic book exhibition cross town. He said he really enjoyed himself, but that the wares were generally way too expensive for his pocketbook. He took my oldest and his two children along as well, so I suspect that between burgers and treasures for the grandbabies the money he had planned to spend disappeared quite quickly.

I went back to bed after my youngest left, so managed to miss a call from my Dad. We could have spent the afternoon together, but I didn't even hear the phone ring. I'd only had 2 hours sleep by then, after all. Instead he went out and worked on his yard. I was surprised to hear that, when I reached him a couple hours later. You see, it started raining in the middle of the night and that continued on for most of the early part of today. Another reason I was likely sleepless. I love watching the rain fall, smelling that sweet freshly-washed scent she leaves behind her. Rainbows scattered across the sky. Anyway what with the wind and the rain today it would have been more sensible to be inside, but my Dad loves working in the outdoors. All that fresh air. He was ready to take a nap though by the time I interrupted his chores. He warned me that I would have to wait until my hedges were fully leafed out before I could trim them with that power tool - the hedge clippers. Right now those hedges are just budding, so I need to wait another couple of weeks before taking on that task. Not a problem. I spent quite a bit of time just enjoying the sight of the grass front and back going a bright emerald green with Mother Nature's shower. There are buds on the lilac bushes and the roses as well. Yesterday I tried staking up the roses and got several thorns ripping my skin for my troubles. Found a pair of gardening gloves today, so if it isn't too rainy tomorrow I may give that another go before those bushes get too - well bushy.

My youngest called to say he was on his way home just after the supper hour. My daughter-in-law had fed that lot, so I had a solitary snack of fresh cucumbers and tomatoes along with tortillas dipped in butter chicken sauce - my youngest having brought the remnants of that dish home from work the day before. I met up with him at the bank and then we went grocery shopping. I had managed to get some laundry under control and had actually sat and read two newpapers and a book as well, between when I spoke with my Dad and when I took my walk over to that grocery store. As a result, I hadn't noticed that sky had gone black until I left home. It was as though I was walking about in the middle of the night. Heavy banks of thunder clouds to the north and fierce gusting winds threatening that first pounding storm of spring. Lucky I had decided I needed a coat. Banks of flower and vegetable seed packets were sitting right at the front door, as we entered the grocery store. How fair is that - of course one buys on impulse. I wanted some hops seeds, because I had read that they will grow in even really poor, dry soil - like the kind I have in my side yard where only foxtails grow now. Hops are so soothing that they used to be put inside pillows to help someone sleep. Can't hurt to try then can it? No hops, but lobelia and wildflowers were good enough to be getting on with. I did some reading and found out that squirrels will not steal or eat bulbs and seeds mixed with cayenne pepper, so maybe I'll get a mixture prepared tomorrow too. Beltane and the full moon approach, dear diary. Anyway that is all I have to say tonight. I am really sleepy now, so maybe I'll try that bed thing again. Maybe sleep will visit at last.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats