Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:28 - 27.04.07
application
I was up and out of bed before 4:30 this am. My back and shoulder hurt so much that there was no point even trying to sleep. Happens sometimes when my lungs are really acting up. Could have something to do with the lifting and shifting I've been doing too, I guess. Read email and prepared for the morning routine. Once I saw my youngest off to work I logged in to the web seminar I had signed up for a couple of weeks back. Same law firm, but this time the focus was a compare and contrast between Canadian and US legislation with respect to construction contracts. Most of it I knew already, because they are the type of documents that I work with in the one industry here. A lot of the companies in the industry are from the international community, so it is a bit of a sensitive point in discussion and reporting at times. The seminar emphasized that one is required to respect and follow the legislation in the jurisdiction where one is working as opposed to the one where head office might be. Remember in the very last assignment I had, I had supplied links to the contact I was working with in head office in the US when they stated that they had been told no Canadian legislation existed for the issue we had been discussing. I cc'd my immediate supervisor with that email, so it wasn't as though I was trying to do anything under the table. It was simply due diligence. That was the point in the fall where I was hauled into the boardroom and castigated by the immediate supervisor and her supervisor as well. That was also the point where it was made clear that the decision not to take me on as a regular employee was made. Technically that is illegal and, in this case, also involved attempts at obstruction of the company to meet legal requirements for operation in this province, but it was the local staff who were trying to evade the issue while head office was doing it's best to be compliant with existing statutes. I still don't know why those two supervisors were lying to head office, but it did cost me a full-time job. Oh well. Given that the election was imminent by then - something the two supervisors knew when they hired me - I suppose it was just an illusion they wanted to create in my mind anyway. Sigh. I kept notes of the seminar as the discussion ensued just saving the copy in Word for later reference.

I needed to take a break from the cleaning today, both because of my breathing problems and because of my back going into spasm. Spent the afternoon sending out another batch of resumes for some interesting looking jobs. I also spent some time researching different questions I had swirling around in my head. For example, our federal government just announced the banning of the sale of incandescent light bulbs in order to reduce greenhouse gas production. The odd bit is that the preferred replacement bulbs contain mercury, which is already a major source of pollution. It can and does damage the central nervous system. There isn't much point in trading one set of problems for those that might be even worse is there? Since the replacements they are flogging are fluorescent bulbs, I needed to think about additional green friendly alternatives that I could use instead. Remember fluorescent lighting in the offices where I have worked cause me to have migraines. I was especially interested in full-spectrum lights. The reason is two-fold. First: those lights have been thought to reduce seasonal affective disorder and also they are used to help indoor plants grow better. Since my share of the duplex is on the west side, I do have an issue with reduced natural light effectively filtering into my home. Also, the places where I want to set up a reading nook and my computer station are both in corners where the sun doesn't reach. Since I hope to spend a lot of time in both, I need to find some sort of lighting that will compensate for the lack of natural sunlight. Right? I guess I could consider skylights too... Doesn't help with evening hours though does it? The other research had to do with industry standard software. Need to be up to speed on my work applications don't I?

Anyway I guess I should try sleeping again now that the spasm has gone. wish me luck dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats