Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:56 - 15.04.07
Pearl Phishers
Amazon is an on-line bookseller with which I have had an account almost as long as the site has existed. I received an email during the week stating that my account with them showed "unusual activity" and that a security breach with respect to my personal information may have occurred. Now if this had been a bank I would have been really upset, but other than my password there isn't much information about me to gather from that particular site - unless one counts reading tastes. I emailed their contact line yesterday just to verify that the communication had been legitimate and to enquire what "limiting access" to my account would entail. Before eight hours were up I had a reply stating that the company had issued no such email and to take defensive action with respect to my financial safety had I used the link provided in the missive. I hadn't, so I wasn't worried about theft of income, but the email had emphasized several times that I should at the very least change my password. To me that means there must have been an attack directly on their database with the hackers trying to break the individual codes of customers. A guess would be that for those accounts that couldn't be accessed, the hackers sent out the email that started this whole line of enquiry. Or maybe not.

My lungs were still seriously messed up after my closet cleaning adventures during the past week and a high fever just wouldn't go away no matter what I tried. No physical work was in the cards for me today as a result, nor any exercise for that matter. The upshot was that instead I spent a lot of time on the phone with sibs and sons trying to nail down arrangements for tomorrow - remember our delayed Easter Dinner had been rescheduled til then. The concern raised by all the males? "But the hockey game..." Yes well our team did make it in to the finals by the skin of their teeth and they have barely hung on since. One day with family might do those overwrought fans some good - right? Besides it is just the first level of the finals. I think the winning two teams play into June. Lots of games to go - or not. The other unavoidable task was grocery shopping. The cupboards were bare and I needed ingredients for tomorrow's buffet-style dish. Those are just awaiting the final step of assembly now. I'll do that in the morning. Now for some sleep. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats