Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:13 - 23.03.07
a few words - booble, squeak and galumph
I started posting updated resumes on various websites on the weekend. A voicemail yesterday resulted in an appointment for an interview next week. Good start. I've also booked in for a couple of free seminars on US and Canadian legislation compare/contrast regulating the industry I usually work in downtown offered by one of the law firms here. Movement anyway. The frustation comes still from Elections Canada. After their call on Tuesday evening I called and left a voicemail requesting clarification that night. I waited through Wednesday expecting that it might take a day to get back to me. At the end of the day today I still hadn't heard from them, so I emailed my successor directly. Often the poobahs in Ottawa intervene in that - we are supposed to go through their channels don't you know. Control communication and/or the finances and one controls the company don't you know. Being as paranoid as I am about their behaviour, justified by their postings in December, I am afraid that they will limn the slow transfer of materials over to my successor as an example of my refusal to comply with their directions rather than the fact that, as usual, their response time and the constant changing of information and instructions is the source of the problem. You may have noticed they will never put anything in writing. I asked the successor to respond to me in a reply email by tomorrow. After all the arrangements I've made at their first instructions are for Sunday morning.

When I was at the grocery store yesterday I bumped into one of the people I had recruited, on Elections Canada's instructions last fall, in one of the higher paid supervisory positions. I hadn't seen them since I had sent out the email to everyone telling them that I wouldn't be in my position any more. I was trying to apologize for misleading them and raising their expectation of a job even though I didn't do it on purpose. As I've noted before it is almost as though Elections Canada knew that my riding would be posted in December, but wanted to make certain that they could also discredit me within my own community before that time by making it appear I was misrepresenting myself. It also mislead a lot of other people in the process too. Talk about abuse of power, harassment and bullying in the workplace. Or maybe I'm reading it wrong, but I don't think so. Maybe the Mars/Saturn opposition in the sky today is maybe making me a little harsher in judgement than I should be. I don't know. The person I was talking with made me feel much better by stating that they were only willing to take on the position if I was the Returning Officer. They weren't interested in the large amount of money they could make in a short time, even though they have some pressing bills to pay. A couple of the other people I'd asked to work for me in the higher paying positions had said the same in emails they sent after getting the word from me. I appreciate the loyalty and the kindness but I don't want to see them forego benefits because of me either. My fvorite astrologer in the new scopes stated that patience and waiting for the rest of the story to unfold was necessary this week. He was right last week so let's go for a double. Eh? Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats