Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:38 - 13.03.07
Devotion
I received one of those email religious tracts from one of the people I think might have had some say in which electoral districts, including mine, were posted. It said something to the effect - wrapped up as it was in gory images of the crucifixion - that they expected forgiveness from me because I had probably done something - like stealing post-it notes from an employer - that meant I was responsible for their intentional transgressions against me. "He deserved killin'". I know I have made errors in my life, just as has everyone else, although stealing post-it notes wasn't one of them. However I've never justified my mistakes by blaming the person who was on the receiving end of my blunders for their misfortune caused by me. When I've realized I've done something wrong I have tried to remedy or reconcile it although with varied results. One doesn't always see the big picture until after many years sometimes. I recall my sons - all six of them - trying that type of rationalization on me when trying to avoid being held accountable for their missteps by blaming one of their other brothers for provoking them "he looked at me!!!!" or "he did it first - a year ago" or "yes but he did "x" and all I did was "y" so I shouldn't be held to account or suffer the consequences of my actions". I'm certain every parent has heard some variation on that theme and forgiven their child many times over as I did and as did my parents and grandparents before me. However, I also made my sons accountable for their behaviour and insisted it be set to rights "wipe up that spilled milk" or that consequences were clearly and consistently applied " no you do have to replace the toy you broke with one of your own". It was part of my responsibility to my sons as a parent. As a result they've grown up to be responsible productive adults who understand that they are part of a social network that only works in a healthy manner if everyone does/gives their fair share. Yes I know pipe dream at times but one should work toward the best for the greater good right? After all, even though that one Man offered His life up as sacrifice, to carry our sins for us it never seemed to me that should be a licence for people 2000 years later to wilfully and with intent, actively participate in the torture and mutilation of that same saviour through their wilful choice to sin. Yet that is exactly what that tract implied was acceptable behaviour for a Christian. Even as a small child I always thought the message was that I should try extra hard to be good so that that son of god/man shouldn't have to experience pain because of me. Yet here is this person justifying their behaviour and claiming through this tract that the almighty - the great Father - is dumber than the average parent and blind as well. There was no point responding to the twisted little homily they sent, so I sent this link instead. I don't think it will be understood but that isn't the point. Bleagh.

The past few days have been filled with family activities and so I've focussed on spending time with my sons and grandchildren as well as various siblings/friends instead. I've also been preparing to hand off all the remaining supplies and electronic gear to the new Returning Officer in my area as well as talking with several of the peers I have who are no longer with Elections Canada. They all say that their lives and mental health have improved immeasurably since being out of that atmosphere. Hopefully I'll find the same perspective setting in for me too. Hard to say.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats