Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:33 - 30.01.07
progress
It's rather late so this post will be short, dear diary. The morning commute began with more rude behaviour from one of the young women I wrote about a couple of weeks ago. As usual they arrived at the bus stop at the very last moment. When I paused to let one of the earlier arrivals on the bus before me, the ruder of the two started shoving me from behind. The other young woman seems to have realized that waiting one's turn also applies at bus stops, but that other one just doesn't get it. Maybe she's just a bit slow intellectually and I am expecting too much from her, eh?

Arrived at my son's home in good time. Both he and his wife are fighting bad colds and they should have stayed in bed. As we all know, sometimes the realities of work don't allow for that. My grand-daughter, on the other hand, was her own sweet self again. Happy but sleepy. We played and cuddled until her naptime. Just after noon my Dad arrived at the door, followed not long after by two of my sisters. That was one of the get togethers I mentioned I had agreed to this week. They had wanted to take me out for lunch for my birthday. Cards and gifts, not only for me, but for my two youngest grandbabies too. My grand-daughter loved her new puzzle book when she got the opportunity to play with it at the end of the day. My one sister had also brought a new-to-me second hand winter coat. Very elegant, as well as being warm. My other one had seen better days and I was wondering how much longer I was going to be able to use it. Now I have an alternative.

It is amazing how much time and effort it takes to pack up for one small child these days. Between getting her carseat safely ensconced in my sister's van, dressing her for the elements and packing a diaper bag with the contingency items necessary for a few hours away from home, it took about half an hour of concentrated effort by all four adults. My grand-daughter thought being the focus of attention for the day was wonderful though. She cooed and sang her way through the time together. At the restaurant she was happy in her high chair and loved the tank full of live fish just across from our table. She visited with the two women in the booth next to ours and waved at a couple of other tiny chldren out with their families. Just a happy little girl. My Dad carried her back out to the car obviously showing a great deal of pride in her. They sang a duet as they wandered along together.

Conversation over lunch was about more family issues. Travel to New Zealand was also on the go as it appears that my Dad is finally going to be able to realize his dream of travelling there. A very pleasant way to spend three hours. When we arrived back at my son's home everyone else left for their homes. My grand-daughter was so tired she barely could stay awake through a very necessary diaper change. When her parents arrived home she told them all about her happy day.

Arrived home after my youngest, who was happily attached to the tv with his games controller. I had a large number of emails to respond to waiting for me. Made a couple of phone calls to the staff I had emailed on the weekend just asking for updates. Had a good chat with the one who had spent Christmas in Peru. The two staff both have paperwork they have to fax me before I can send it in to the finance people so that they can be paid so I'm still tied up with that, but maybe by tomorrow I can have those loose ends tied up too. Another email from Elections Canada talking about another assignment in addition to the one to find an office. There is another email in my own elections folder that I haven't been able to open about the office search. If I can't get it opened by tomorrow I guess I'll call.

Anyway have to catch a bus in a couple of hours so good night for now dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats