Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:06 - 29.01.07
Re-cycle
The day started with the phone ringing. I wasn't off that beast until dinner time, when my youngest was leaving for a visit to his oldest brother's home. A continuation of conversations and email from yesterday partly, plus new communication as well. I connected with all my sisters and picked up a lot of family updates. One niece had potentially been seriously ill, but was fine now. One nephew is making his mom crazy and she was in despair. I noted how much progress I had seen in him at Christmas and tried to bolster her self esteem. One friend giving me an update one her husband's fight with cancer. A few of her comments about his treatment seemed to indicate that the prognosis was not very good at all. I wrote back and offered what comfort I could, but what does one say to a person possibly facing the loss of a beloved spouse. I guess being able to count my blessings was the gift of those stories. My friend from the Middle East has moved back to our city to stay. Yay! We spent a lot of time talking about the move and all the details of setting up house anew. They had rented their home here during their time overseas, so at least they weren't faced with trying to find an equivalent home in this overheated real estate market. My sister's sister-in-law checking in and catching up a bit. She is really progressing with her work on her computer - it was obvious by the confidence she had in herself when she spoke of some of her research and activities over the past month. With several of the callers, setting times to get together. A very productive day, but I felt exhausted by the end of that time. Fed my youngest just before he left, then had a nap with the cats. Spent a couple of hours trying to get all the paperwork necessary assembled and sent off to the Member of Parliament's office and Elections Canada respectively so that those three staff can be paid. Emailed two of those staff as well. And there goes another two hours of free labour. Oh well. I think I mentioned that I was given 10 hours more to search for an office by one of the headquarters staff on Friday. I skimmed the newspapers, but there was only one posting that wasn't suitable anyway. Try again tomorrow on that one.

My youngest and I have had more discussion about his trip and he has finally told me more about the person he is wanting to visit. Guess she was in the army and served in one of the really hot spots a few years back. I still am very concerned though about his travelling and it has as much to do with the draconian measures both this country and the US are taking with respect to travel between the two. It makes me sad that I am now considered a threat in what I once considered a sister country. Even though I used to love my visits there, I don't think I will choose to travel there for vacations anytime soon. Maybe that is why younger Canadians are choosing Africa or the Far East as their destinations of choice now. Personally, I want to enjoy myself, not be worried about an innocent slip of the tongue or someone on a power trip on either side of the border guards. I want to go somewhere where I feel welcomed and respected in otherwords.

Respect was sort of the theme in dreams last couple of nights. Still a bit jumbled - the images. There is a continued reference to my last supervisor; the one I worked for up until March of 2005. I went back and read my posts of what was happening in that last assignment and realized that any approach from him should be avoided. I hadn't really realized up until now how unacceptable his treatment of me personally was nor how many times he neglected duty of care, with respect to my working conditions. In fact he seemed to be egging on or directing the people who were harassing me on that worksite. I think that he exploited my need to make enough money to pay the bills without any conscience at all. I'm glad I made the choice to move on then. Now that I've responded to that subconscious pressure to review that time, maybe it means that cycle of lessons is over. One can only hope.

Any way it's going to be a busy day tomorrow so I'd best get some sleep, to dream.... Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats