Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:07 - 28.01.07
Birthday
My grand-daughter was quite ill on Friday so it made for a long day. Not anything critical, but sick enough that it demanded constant monitoring and care. I was late getting home from my son's home because I stayed until I was certain my grand-daughter was in a safe condition. Her Dad and I went shopping for her and then picked up Greek takeout at a little mom and pop shop not far from their home.

Add in a call from my Member of Parliament's office around 10 in the am about getting the three unpaid workers reimbursed. That triggered a cascade of calls from people at headquarters at Elections Canada who haven't responded to my requests for some time. Apparently one call from his office had everyone wanting to speak with me personally immediately. More hours were given to me to search - yet again - for an office as well. Hmmmmmmmmm. The downside is that it means a lot of paperwork on my part that needs to be done over the weekend to ensure all the i's are dotted and the t's are crossed.

Arrived home after my youngest and was just settling in when the phone rang. Number four son, his wife and their baby were on their way over for a visit. The little guy - the youngest of the grand-babies is just coming up to four months of age. He's so strong that I think he will be walking earlier than most babies. He laughed and giggled for most of the time - eying the cats as they showed signs of jealousy that my lap was occupied against their fine selves. The conversation was just catching up on a month's worth of news while admiring that youngest little man.

Today was my birthday. I decided that my gift to me would be time to rest or play as I pleased. Calls from my friend from the Middle East who is in town for a short visit, my sister's sister-in-law and my sons over the day and an email from one of my sisters asking to set up a time to get together too. My youngest and I went out for dinner at the Pho restaurant. My daughter-in-law has a very bad cold so I ordered a curry dish and added extra hot sauce to try and ward off that virus. I think it burned out any remaining vestige of germs - that pho that is. We stopped in for groceries after that then headed home. More family calls and then we settled in to watch the Da Vinci Code. The movie was ok - my son, who hasn't read the book, could follow the story line. The screenplay was well done although there is such a wealth of detail in the book that it can never be completely done justice to in a movie. I thought Ian McKellan was a delightful villain.

Anyway I need to get some sleep so I can get all the paperwork and phone calls I need completed tomorrow, now that I've had my play day. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats