Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:37 - 21.01.07
leaps of faith
It was number five son's birthday yesterday. One of those milestone ones. When I called to chat with him, he was just getting ready to celebrate with his friends. He was just made manager of one of the restaurants in the new organization he works for. Given he wasn't certain at Christmas that he would still be part of that company, the promotion made for a very nice birthday gift. His only problem - like a lot of other businesses - is finding enough skilled staff. He said right now he would be happy with breathing and clean living. Hmmm.

Yesterday was quiet at my son's home. The only odd thing is the telephone calls they receive at least two or three times a week. When one answers there is silence and then the other party hangs up - mostly. Yesterday, when I answered, an automated voice said "I'm sorry" and then hung up. I hoped I could take that as a sign in a positive way. My grand-daughter and I started reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. She is due to go to daycare in about one month so there isn't much time left to finish up the rest of the series. At one point there was a flurry of speculation on one of the fan sites when one of the American publishers mentioned an end of February date for release of the seventh book. I got excited thinking maybe I could read all of them to her in a row. That information was retracted fairly quickly though with the British publisher stating that they hadn't even received the manuscript yet. It was that early ordering offer from Amazon and the practice run by the UK postal service that seemed to validate it though. Drat.

My youngest received notice that his passport was waiting for him at the post office yesterday too. He was in a roar when he went twice today to pick it up - before work and at his lunch break. Each time he was told the package wasn't entered in any part of the system, even though he was holding the delivery notice in his hand stating it would be there. With all the security issues and the arrest of several postal employees for stealing mail in the past few months it made the problem even worse. If only the postal workers have had access to it then it had disappeared, does it mean that someone along the way removed it from the tracking system? Were they counting on my son not showing up for a day or two so they could return it undetected after they had copied it? My son has already booked off his holidays next month so he can visit his e-friends in Ohio, but travel agencies here are warning that cancelling a flight if one's passport is late in the mail is not considered an insurable delay. According to the one TV station, it means forfeiting the flight and one's payment for same as well. If it doesn't show up quickly with a good explanation, do we report it to Canadian security people or the passport office? Given it has already taken nearly a month to receive it, even though there was a guarantee of ten days turn around when he went to the federal offices in December, how long will it take to secure a reissued passport? Chances are very high it will mean he will have to rebook his trip - if his employer is agreeable that is. Bummer.

I had a similar set of frustrations with trying to get my prescription filled. This time the pharmacy offered to fax my doctor to see if they can get the authorization they need to refill it for me. If I hadn't been calling and leaving messages at the doctor's office, as well as trying to talk with their staff about it since that blood vessel burst in my sinus on November 29, I wouldn't be so frustrated. I am very sorry if my doctor is ill, but there has to be contingency plans in place to ensure that patients aren't put at risk from lack of access. I'm not certain what the next step is if there is no response to that fax.

Messages from friends and election type friends the past couple of days. An e-recipe exchange from my friend the artist. Cooking is an art form too, isn't it? One of the election staff who did get paid, but thought they were short changed, letting me know they had received an explanation of the reduced amount and were satisfied with that. Good - another good omen? One of the survey panels I respond to sent me another coupon for a $10 discount - getting paid to express an opinion, works for me. The most interesting news of the day all had to do with meteorology and weather - or people's responses to it. Good news for the environment too - maybe? Time for dreams to clear the internal environment now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats