Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:01 - 19.12.06
pending
I'm not feeling that well dear diary - another fierce storm elsewhere is wreaking havoc with my head - sinuses and migraine. That means a very short entry tonight.

Arrived at my son's home this morning after the bus driver filled her passengers in on coming change to scheduling. She is moving on to another route too because she said that driving in downtown traffic was just too challenging these days. Her route is almost half contained in the downtown area and focusses on the main bottlenecks so that was understandable. She concluded by saying she was spending a couple of months in Arizona after the new year began so she wouldn't see us after next week. Hmmm. My son and granddaughter didn't seem all that energetic and my son allowed that he had had very lttle rest this weekend. Not more information forthcoming. My granddaughter became very animated each time images of Santa Claus appeared on the television screen. She would point and chatter away as though she was telling of her encounter with said elf. She has two new teeth on the bottom of her jaw and was also intent on exploring the uses of these new appendages.

She was quite lethargic otherwise. Turned out she had been offered new foods this weekend and it had messed up her tummy. REally bad tummy ache meant she wanted more sleep than usual to cope with the discomfort. By dinner time when her system had cleaned itself out a bit she was happier.

There have been a lot of odd calls both at my home and my son's home the past while. The regular phone and hang up ones as well as blocked calls. One I picked up on the weekend the woman on the other end asking for me by my complete maiden name and then asking if I was planning to spend Christmas with her in British Columbia. Truth is I love travelling in British Columbia but I don't have any immediate family living there - even an aunt named Tess as this lady claimed to be. That was one of the blocked calls. Calls for my daughter in law from several - "it's urgent we contact her with the details of this new offer for her use". Not even when I explain that I have no influence on household spending being a non-resident do the callers end their sales pitches. I don't like doing it but my granddaughter ix very active and mobile now and requires continual supervision. The distraction of a slaes pitch isn't a good thing so I have had to just hang up a couple of times when the caller just refused to quit talking. Just a soft "click" though no banging down the receiver or anything. I was raised to believe that was incredibly rude and I still feel that way most times. However I was raised in the days when telemarketing didn't permeate the landscape where some companys felt that their product advertisements forced on one through the telephone was a legitimate marketing tactic. It isn't. Any company who can't respect my time isn't going to get me as a client - ever. There was also a knock at the door this afternoon. A young man srood there waiting calmly when I approached the door in my son's home. He was holding a huge basket of flowers. I wondered who had sent them to my daughter in law thinking she would be thrilled when she arrived home. Turned ut they were for the neighbour living in the unit in front of my son's home. The card was addressed just to the male occupant and the delivery person emphasized that feature when he stated he would leave a note taped to that man's door to let him know where his flowers weree. The other odd thing was that all the lights in the home had been on in that unit when I arrived that morning when they are normally all of while the outside Christmas lights were all off where usually they are all on. That had been a puzzle for the brief time it took me to pass on to my son's unit. It was revitalized when the flower arrangement arrived.

Anyway time for bed. I have a bus to catch not long from now. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats