Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:06 - 10.12.06
Reach for the stars
If you look outside at sunrise this morning dear diary, you will see some wonderous sights (a tsunami on the sun). Three planets will in be exact conjunction of each other - Jupiter, Mars and Mercury - at about 3 degrees of Sagittarius according to the ephemeris. Apparently that won't occur again for about another 47 years. The Sabian symbols that apply are - "white capped waves on the ocean" and "two men playing chess". So, the planets representing growth, spirituality, action and communication working together in harmony wherever they are found in one's astrological chart might indicate an opportunity for great advancement in those areas of endeavour with gamesman-like strategy and the power of air in motion to assist.

I was really restless last night. Still on about the work issues, so my youngest decided we would watch a movie together to take my mind off it. Star Wars "Return of the Jedi". He brought up all three of his light sabres for the proper effect. The only one he is missing is the purple light. Mace Windu's choice. We talked about family issues and history as we watched, because the Star Wars theme is strongly embedded in that both temporal terms and emotionally. His interpretation of it is that the idea of redemption of an absent/shadow father is the dominant theme that runs through his and his adult brothers' lives, both consciously and unconsciously. Where they struggle to find balance is in that area. Funny that the first three movies long pre-dated the time when their father left our family. Very perceptive for a young person just turning 19, don't you think? He brought up the issues of compassion and doing the right thing for it's own sake. He commented that most times that puts one in a position of vulnerability at best and disadvantage or peril at worst. He noted that my choices in life reflected those values and doomed his brothers and him to attempt to follow that path with their father. Unconditional love - what a concept. It was interesting that he also referenced the Harry Potter canon of work, noting that it appeared to him that Harry was also trying to redeem an absent and perhaps, deficient father throughout that storyline. What Harry's father is revealed to be in the final book may be a critical part of the way that will decide if Harry chooses to live or die. Can he live with and build on the real truth or will he choose some form of psychological or emotional self-destruction through denial of that shadow. Hmmmm.

While we were watching, I spoke on the telephone with number two son about Christmas gifts for his niece and nephew from my oldest son. My oldest son had said he would be staying over after work so he could have a birthday supper with us on the eve of his birthday. It turned out that he didn't manage to make it over, but had conveyed the lists of his two children to me nonetheless. The toy store flyers are piled high on my table so price comparisons can be made on request. I was amazed that the whole suite of the earlier Star Wars toys from the 70's was being offered. My youngest really wants the purple light sabre, but deemed it impossible to find. Maybe we can work a tiny Christmas miracle, although he said he didn't want anyone else to know he still found pleasure in such childish things. I noted that there was a difference between being childish - emotionally immature - and child-like, an absolutely necessary quality for anyone who is creative and positive in their adult ventures. He is definitely not childish. After I had relayed the information requested to number two son,I sat with my old music books on my lap, sifting through them as my youngest and I watched and talked about the movies. You see my oldest son's daughter received a keyboard as a gift. She really wants to play it, but music lessons are out of their financial reach and the books themselves are quite expensive. I started taking piano lessons when I was still in elementary school. I still have my lessons from back then. Fingering and chording, as well as those interminable exercises some teachers feel are necessary if one is to become an accomplished pianist. Set the best of the bunch aside, so he can take them with him when he drops back home today. I have an electric organ here, but it needs to be fixed before it can be played. However, I could use it to coach my oldest grand-daughter on basic skills. My son says she can play by ear just like me and my grand-mother, so it shouldn't be too hard. Maybe I can head off the bad habits I developed, eh?

My oldest did arrive later this evening, when he had dealt with work and family related issues. That is what had held him up with respect to having a birthday celebration here. Supper was roast beef, baked potatoes, steamed mushrooms and spinach, with cake and ice cream as chasers. I made a second birhtday cake - cheese(cake) if you please - for him to take home to share with his children and his partner too. I don't feel well enough nor do I have the money - thanks to Elections Canada's dithering with respect to paying me for my work - to throw a full blown family get together for him or my youngest whose birthday is on Monday. Maybe I can manage an Un-birthday party for all the family come February. I think that is the only month where we don't have any family birthdays at all, you see. After our little celebration this evening, I tried again to get some movement on that election work that seems to be stuck in intractibility. Both computers crashed when I started trying to access my work email account. Bother. Maybe that conjunction in the heavens this morning will help. Right now I'd accept any method that worked to move things on in a positive direction. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats