Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:29 - 06.12.06
food for thought
My nose is starting to bleed again dear diary so this will be short. I just finished cooking dinner number two for numbers one and six sons. It has warmed up considerably from the -40 temperatures of last week, but in this climate if someone is complaining of hunger when they are spending periods of times outdoors it means their body does not have enough available fuel to protect that person from the cold. When it is possible to do so it is important to feed that body until hunger is gone. Both my sons were very hungry tonight. Pork chops and potatoes first then sausages to follow with whatever else they grabbed out of the fridge. My youngest was complaining of being feverish again so I am guessing his tooth might be the source. He took some of the antibiotics that were prescribed and seems more comfortable now.

This morning the busses and trains seemed less crowded. More people take the train when the roads are icy for certain, but it could also be that like me most people were wearing less and lighter outdoor clothing. I just had my denim car coat on instead of the full suite of hats, scarves, mitts, warmers and winter coat that was de riguer last week. Just a more spacious feeling. Fellow travellers were also a happier and politer lot too. We are all appreciating that break is all. Arrived at my son's in good time. He had been really tired the day before and it appeared he hadn't got much sleep the night before. He seemed a bit behind with his usual morning routine. My granddaughter was awake but still a bit groggy. I helped where I could but I don't like to interfere with parent/child time. It's too important to give up if that can be avoided. Fortunately my sons have a good sense of value when it comes to their family members and put them ahead of material and social concerns. Did something right I guess. The day was pretty low key with just playing and napping when the mood took us. There was a bit of tension between my son and daughter-in-law when she arrived home after he did, but every mariage has days like that. It could just be that they were both too tired to deal with whatever is going on. Likely financial pressures what with a new home - two years old - and a new baby. Both are very expensive items to be certain but they are also both investments as opposed to expenses. The courier service had dropped off another package for my son. This time I was in the kitchen warming a bottle for my granddaughter. There are 8 steps from that level to the entry. There was no sign of the delivery person by the time I opened the door to retrieve that parcel. I understand that it is Christmas rush but leaving a parcel labelled with the names of games on an open front stoop is hardly good service is it?

Anyway time for bed. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats