Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:40 - 05.12.06
obstruction
Saturday was a work day for my youngest. I got up earlier than him so I could get a few things rolling before he needed my attention. Shoveled the front sidewalk since it was a fine morning for it. The snow is still that dusty consistency and, therefore, relatively easy to work with. I wanted to get the garbage out including the stinky litter but I couldn't get the balcony door open. Frozen shut. Breakable if force is used so I didn't acheive that goal. The cats were pleased with their newly filled containers however. We aim to please.

I was still feeling really weak from the blood loss so after getting dishes soaking and throwing in a load of laundry I crawled back into bed. I awoke in the afternoon when the phone started ringing. It seemed every member of my family who wasn't working was Christmas shopping. Seemed as though everyone thought I would know or have the lists for each person they were trying to buy for. Not really although I started asking each person for same starting back in September. One of my sisters called toask if she, one other sister and my Dad could come by for a visit and maybe go out for lunch on Monday when I was looking after my grand-daughter. I confirmed it was ok with my son and then responded. That sister said her nephew had some household good s he didn't want anymore - would I want to go pick them up? Discussed it with my youngest at length. One of the promises I made to myself when I started gutting the interior of the house is that I would leave things untouched unless I found exactly what I wanted to replace what has been pitched. After all I have never had anything but second hand furnishings for my home. Although I was grateful for the material that was passed on to me, I've now reached the point where the idea of having someone else's cast offs depressing. I'd rather have an empty room with just painted walls that please my own sene of esthetics for a change. Since I no longer have anyone to accomodate other than myself - and my sons when they visit - I am making a choice that puts my own tastes first. Empty/simplicity is a good theme.

Next up number four son called could he bring his wife and their new son over for a visit. I wasn't really feeling up to it but I hadn't seen them since before the cruise they took and that new baby would be growing fast. They arrived around the supper hour with take out in hand. Bonus. My son had asked me to gather up some of his tax documents, remember? Handed those off then he disappeared into the computer room to do some job hunting. He said that he was frustrated with his current job and wanted something with more substance. His wife and I chatted as we cuddled that new little guy. It was actually very pleasant since it is one of the first times she has told me somethig about her own likes and dislikes. That came naturally after her story about their experience on the cruise ship. They had been recruited to be contestants on the newlywed game and had tied with the most senior couple on board for knowing each other. As those questions were related and their answers reviewed it became easier to ask about her likes more without being intrusive. My youngest arrived around 8 pm and visitied with them for another hour and then the house shut down for the night. My nose was starting to bleed again , I think because I had been on my feet constantly for several hours as well as carrying around my grandson - tiny though he may be. Sunday was quiet with my youngest at work again and me sleeping - trying to get some rest. I did write two posts to you dear diary and reworked those spreadsheets the local rep didn't like one more time before sending them off.

Today was the visit with my family and my granddaughter. The transit trip was uneventful maybe because we now have much warmer weather. People are less likely to be absent minded or cranky. My son and I chatted for a bit before he left while he made certain the car seat was ready to go in my sister's van. My grandaughter and I followed our morning routine and then had our naps. We overslept and woke when the doorbell rang at 12:30 - oh dear. Finally got organized and out the door after changing dressing and gathering up the supplies needed to take one tiny baby for an outing. It took four fully fetched up adults to carry all the supporting material out to the waiting chariot. While I prepared things my granddaughter - and her toys - entertained my family. We all love babies. My Dad's knees were causing him some pain so it was decided that we would go to the one drive through restaurant in this city - Peter's - that is the place locals go for the best burgers and shakes in town. One of my Dad's favorite haunts. Drove over to the top of the escarpment overlooking the river in to downtown, watching life go by. When we were about two thirds of the way done our lunches one of the local television station's vans drove up. Out popped their "hard news" reporter and his cameraman. It seemed as though they wanted the sight of a local vehicle in the story although their camera was focussed toward city hall. We stayed for as long as my sister who was driving could wait then pulled quietly away. Rather a nasty look from the cameraman but if they wanted our presence they needed to let us know why and how long.

They dropped my granddaughter, all her added support material and me off at my son's home then went off for their evening engagements. My grandaughter had enjoyed the fresh air and sunshine but had also been tired out by it. I changed her and gave her the last of her third bottle before she went down for another nap. About half an hour after that my son arrived home. My nose had started to bleed again when we arrived home from the outing so I took the opportunity to lie down while he played his new video games and my granddaughter slept. My daughter-in-law was distant with me when she arrived until she learned about the possibility of her daughter being in a news clip. She seems to really want her to be in baby ads and similar modelling opportunities. I suppose it is fine as long as it is for her benefit rather than just as an extra source of income. When I arrived home my income became the focus when I checked the email from Elections Canada. The local rep claiming that the worksheets I had sent her three months ago were blank and therefore that is why Iwouldn't get paid. Remeber last email she had stated she hadn't received them at all - at least until I sent the original email to her as proof. I'm top the point where I don't even know what to think anymore. How can I protect the material I do submit from being "lost" or tampered with. How many other things has she not told me or changed so that she can delay my payment indefinitely. What would you do dear diary. Any suggestions would be appreciated - at least those that will ensure I get paid before Christmas. I'll wait for your answers in my dreams. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats