Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:27 - 30.11.06
Botheration
One sign that one's lungs are in distress is if one suddenly becomes restive and anxious, edgy and volatile. I'm not certain why but it was a regular way to tell if inpatients on the burn unit had inhaled any amount of damaging fumes. That description could have fit me last night and I found I couldn't sleep except in short bursts. Darned weather.

The weatherman was talking about -35 C temperatures as I was walking out the door - on time - this morning. Bleagh. I was early at the stop and felt half frozen already by the time the bus arrived. It was packed so I stood on that journey. There was a train sitting at the platform as the bus pulled up and it waited long enough for everyone to board. I saw the one woman I had worried about a couple of winters ago. She hadn't had a proper jacket at that time even though the weather was similar to the current conditions. This time she was dressed well and fully for the deep freeze. That was encouraging. A woman standing next to me in the very crowded car must have marinated in her perfumes the night before. I can cope comfortably with real essential oils but synthetics made from chemicals make my asthma break out in a big way. Since I was fighting to breathe as a result of this woman's scents and lack of sense I would guess she had the chemical version on her dressing table. Not a good start to the day. Slipped off the train and over to the next stop to find one of the express busses waiting. The driver had the door closed and appeared to be immersed in a book. It took me knocking on the door a few times before he let me on board. In fact he almost pulled away first bcause he didn't check to see if anyone was outside looking in. As a result of the perfume and the extension of my outside stays I needed my inhaler once I had found a seat on the connector bus. Bleagh again.

Mt son looked really beat when he answered the door. Had my grand-daughter had a late bedtime? No. He wasn't very communicative but being tired does that to a person. He headed off shortly after while my granddaughter and I wandered into the kitchen to prepare our breakfasts. She seemed rather tired and a bit edgy. Scolding someone who wasn't in the room at times. Odd but small children's realities are somewhat different than ours. Took her down to the family room as the one reporter was describing a multi-vehicle pile up on the route my son takes to work at a spot where he would have just passed. No other details about the vehicles but the reprter did say that there were no injuries. I was tempted to call my son's cellphone to see if he was clear of the problem but decided against it. If he had been caught he would be busy, and if not, then answering his cell might divert his attention to the icy roadways enough to cause him to be in an accident. Right? When he arrived home he allowed he had been just in front of the instigator of the problem and so avoided being included in the pile-up. He said that there was one vehicle towing another that crossed the center line into on-coming traffice. That vehicle had then hit a traffic post and something else - jack-knifed from the sound of it. The other vehicles involved were approaching the scene on an icy downhill slope and likely were also moving too fast for the weather. Thus the pile-up, my friends.

My granddaughter was tired today and indicated she wanted to sleep about half an hour before her parents say is her usual time. Tucked her up after she had eaten and been changed. I was very tired and cold and drifted off under the comforter almost immediately after. I woke when someone rang the door bell around mid-lunch. As I rose I heard a popping sound and blood gushed out of my nose. For the next four hours I would tend my grand-daughter, who had woken at the sound of the bell, with my head tipped back so as not to bleed on her. I still haven't got the darn thing under complete control to be honest. My youngest felt sorry for me though and ordered pizza to ease my discomfort. He had decided it was a good choice when I allowed that I really hadn't eaten since 8 am and was rather cranky as a result. Now it's time for bed - maybe that will help with the problem. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats