Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

07:28 - 25.11.06
chronos
After I saw my oldest son out the door for work yesterday, the need to help various sons continued. Number four son called about some tax issues. My oldest called from work asking for further support with some of his responsibilities. My youngest was reluctant to roll out of his bed to go to work. Can't say as I blame him. The weather continues to be cold and that is only going to get worse as the week next unfolds. Maybe he was suffering from precognition too. Across Canada PIN pads for debit and credit cards crashed. He does tech support for some of the clients that use that service. For about three hours yesterday people who used the one bank's service couldn't use any of their plastic money. Cash only. Some of us who are older recall a time when tht was the norm, but there are a lot of people who really don't know how to make that approach to financial management work. When my son arrived home last night, he said their office's call volumes were double the normal rate. They just had to tell their clients that they would have to wait upon repairs at the source of the problem. It's only the start of the Christmas shopping blitz. Could be a bit messy if such things keep up. Given my experience at my bank's ATMs a week or so ago I don't think this is the last of the glitches.

As a result of the constant calls and requests from my guys, I didn't finish up dealing with them until noon. I had thought of going downtown to see my chiropractor and to do a bit of shopping for essentials myself. I was too tired to attempt it after only having had a few hours of sleep over that long busy night. Good thing I didn't go after all considering the long line ups and chaos resulting from that banking issue, eh? Maybe the universe was protecting me from those circumstances. Besides it was very cold and getting colder. I needed the rest of the day, after a quick nap, to clean up the house, do some cooking, switch dirty litter boxes for clean ones and ensure the house was as secure and evenly heated as possible.

The cats were pleased with that, although I was definitely upstaged by a convention of sparrows who had set up shop in the berry bushes and trees that shield the south wall of our home. Whatever was upsetting them meant there was a racket as they chirped and tweeted their way to conclusion. All five of the cats were salivating at the sight of so many playmates. Mr Mel was so excited that he was reared on his hind legs standing on the floor of the room with the window closest to the noise for a very long spell. He almost seemed enchanted. He stood there looking very d-o-g like as he seemed to beg for the opportunity to get out through that windowsill. Finally the caucus outside dissolved and peace prevailed. Good thing since I was trying to get a nap in to compensate for the missed sleep the night and morning before. Time now to go rouse number six son for another day of work. Talk to you later, dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats